My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

December 1st: Where’s the Snow?

6 Comments

I know this is BC (not the Prairies where I was born) and I know the weather is suppose to be milder out here, than in other parts of the country; that’s the way it’s always been.

But is it normal at the beginning of December to have berries and apples still perfectly intact, on trees and bushes? Is it normal to have windows wide open (at 11pm last night) and the heat off? Is it normal to have little or no precipitation, for weeks at a time? I think not.

I hear so many people commenting on the “lovely weather” and to “keep it coming”. Hearing comments like these, makes me cringe. These are all harbingers of things to come that will be not only anything but lovely and perhaps/likely to be devastating, throughout the world.

When will the politicians start to heed the warnings? The “regular folk” can only do their share to turn this around before it is too late. But we can’t do it all.

What are your thoughts on where this is all leading us too? What effects of global warming have your noted in your area, that truly alarm you?

I love this photo but not the dangers that it also represents.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

6 thoughts on “December 1st: Where’s the Snow?

  1. I have the photo, Geraldine. Thanks.

    I too fear the changes that come with all this weird warmth. I like the cold, anyhow. So it is an unwelcome, unsettling thing to peel off layers in December.

  2. we are thankful for no snow…ut it is very very very cold here..

  3. I totally agree with you and Sandy. I never like the weird warmth this time (and Later) in the year. It can only be leader to stranger weather which will throw everything off~

  4. Hi Geraldine! I’ve moved to a new site. Come by!

    I agree that it is very scary what is happening weather wise. It should be snowing here and it isn’t yet. I fear for what is happening, and I don’t think anyone in power is taking it seriously enough. I fear for my children and grandchildren yet to come.

  5. We had yellow forsythia blooming for a second time in November — which was really bizarre.

  6. Dear SandyC, Shraddha,Patti, Catherine and Sue,

    It certainly is a worldwide issue that needs to be put at the top of the priority list, with all government officials. We also need to continue to do what we can personally, to minimize and if possible start to turn around the effects of global warming. IT”S TIME!!!

    Wishing you all a wonderful weekend, G

Thank you for your comments!

