My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Fleeting Winter

11 Comments

                                                                                             

Winter in all it’s beauty and glory, did not arrive here in Interior BC, this year. The dryness and just a smattering  of precipitation during the past few months has been distressing.

My sincere thanks to dear Ruinwen for sharing some of her lovely snow pics, one featured above.

Treasure the magic of a winter wonderland (if you have one to enjoy where you are) it’s so hard to see it disappear and all that implies.

On a completely different topic, do stop by Veggies… today for a new Cranberry Wheatgerm muffin recipe/post. 🙂

 I  also have time to do some blog-visiting today, see you soon.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

11 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Fleeting Winter

  1. Brings me back to the winters of long ago for me. Wonderfully evocative.

  2. Lovely…but I wish I could send you our snow…it’s coming down again now!
    It’s MARCH! I want spring!
    (((hugs)))

  3. Our February was practically snowless this year. I do believe the southern half of the United States got all the snow. I am ready for spring, anyway, aren’t you?

    Just was at your other site-didn’t see the muffins, so I will head back there. Cranberry muffins are my favorite.

    Thanks for letting me know I had a spelling error. I never know whether to mention them or not, but am always glad for anyone to point mine out.

  4. We’ve had a hard winter here by UK standards. Looking forward to spring.

  5. I agree that it’s what the lack of snow means – particularly long-term – that is worrying. Who knows how much it has already affected local ecosystems. I would feel ripped off not getting any snow because it is one of the beautiful sights of winter.

    Gorgeous haiku.

  6. Stark and fragile make a stunning pair, and they are so true to the picture.

  7. Beautiful Haiku!
    I know that I’m a bit jaded when it comes to this season…but your words helped bring back the mornings when I was little and having snow on the trees was the lovliest site in the world. 🙂
    I’m glad I could send you some of our snow. 😉 *hugs*

  8. Marvelous haiku … perfect match for the lovely wintry image. Cranberry muffins sound YUMMY!!!
    Hugs and blessings,

  9. Hi Patois, How nice to “see” you again! I’m so happy you enjoyed this haiku and photo.

    Hi Sallee, As another winter-lover, I’m sure you can relate to missing snow. And we have missed it entirely this year. 😦

    Hi Sandy L, Muffins are posted and ready to try, over at Veggies…yum!

    Hi Tony, The weather is getting more unpredictable, isn’t it? And that’s NOT a good thing.

    Hi Sel, I miss having 4 distinct seasons, very much. I am looking forward to that again, someday. It’s not what I expected here in BC but it’s the reality. Rainy season and then blazing hot! 😦

    Hi SandyC, I thought this conveyed my thoughts well. I like how this font blended with the branches too. Thanks Sandy!

    Hi Ruinwen, I couldn’t have done it without you, thanks again friend.

    Hi Barb, I hope you give the recipe a try. I think you’ll enjoy these muffins.

    Wishing you all a wonderful Wednesday, G

  10. So lovely. Yes it was fleeting here this year too. Not much skiing to be done. I really have enjoyed catching up with you. So glad you are back.

  11. Hi Christine, And I am so glad to be back too. Thank you! 🙂 G

Thank you for your comments!

