My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Can We Afford to Hesitate?

18 Comments

 

Our Supreme Mother.

Knows nothing of the word: hesitate.

Moving,shifting,adapting,changing- constantly.

In the eye of a vicious and relentless storm.

Not one of Her making or choosing.

She stands:

resolute and alone.

Struggling to survive, to flourish.

As forces beyond Her control,

Chip away at the majesty of our fading blue planet.

She has not failed us.

She will not give up without a fight.

And in return and in reply:

Can we afford to hesitate, any longer?

*** 

Submitted for the OSI prompt: Hesitation

PS: My thanks to Ruinwen for another snow pic. Watching it all melt away 😦

PSS: On a (much) lighter note, Mr. Cheddar makes another appearance over at Veggies….  hope you can stop by soon.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

18 thoughts on “Can We Afford to Hesitate?

  1. I love this, Geraldine. I love how much you care for our earth. I hope that one day we can all see the fruits of our labours with regard to saving her. This was such a wonderful poem.

  2. A vitally important message in your words.

    I’ve just been on osi and it seems to be working okay. Maybe the server was temporarily down.

  3. Hi Sel, I think about these issues so much. Joe and I both try to do our part, as part of the solution, every day. It’s a huge challenge but one I believe that will be impacted in large part by ordinary people, making changes for the better in whatever way they can. We also need to keep demanding more from the “leaders” who still seem to just be ignoring what’s going on around them. Don’t these people care about the world they are leaving behind for their children and beyond? I just don’t get it. Our PM here in Canada just skirts around these issues, month after month. His record on global warming and initiatives is very poor and known around the world too as such.

    Depressing but we cannot give up. The alternatives are just too grim.

    Hi Tony, I tried OSI again. Worked for one visit, now access denied again. Probably temporary but I want access NOW! 😉

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G

  4. Thanks for this passionate, important poem, Geraldine.

  5. I agree we can hesitate no more. The time for action is now, and it starts with you and me.

  6. Wise and important words, expressed in a lovely way. Beautiful!

  7. Thanks for putting this urgent message into beautiful words and concretet images.

  8. It’s been recognised for a long time that action needs to be taken – though some still deny it while most others remain complacent.

  9. This is such a great poem…may we be awaken and that everyone must be kind to Mother Earth to prevent her from continuous degradation which in the end, we, her inhabitants will suffer the consequences of our being abusive!

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful poem!

  10. What a wonderful poem, these words are so true.

  11. An amazing plea for our Earth. Your words are vivid and thought evoking…as always. *hugs* 🙂

  12. Surely we cannot hesitate. One by one, two by two, we each need to do all we can. Wonderful post!

  13. Hi Sandy C, Thanks friend.

    Hi Rob, We have to focus on what we each can do but it’s hard to ignore all that could be done, but isn’t. Small steps…

    Hi Sweetest, I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem.

    Hi Robin, Welcome and thanks so much.

    Hi Stan, It’s the complacency that’s really alarming, isn’t it? Thanks for visiting MPP.

    Hi Amity, We are already paying the price arent we? And it could get so much worse. 😦

    Hi Joe, Thanks dear. I’m glad you and I are doing what we can to be part of the solution.

    Hi Ruinwen, And thanks for the “perfect” photo. It was an inspiration for me and you are too.

    Hi Sue, So very true, thanks Sue.

    Hugs and Happy Week, G 🙂

  14. i think abt this everytime i get in the car….frustration is fillin the tank…what is the alternative…trains…carpool…. the electric cars are really making a dent… in the state of washington the electric cars are having such an impact the state taxes are lacking… great news!!! we are a consumer based world with little regard or care…mostly…tho i think we can all make an effort in some way….

  15. Geraldine, nice write. 🙂 We are the stewards of the earth, “struggling to survive, to flourish as forces beyond Her control” try to do Her in. Standing by as observers will not fulfill our stewardship duties.
    ..

  16. Hi Pie, I hear you…We actually sold (both) of our cars, when we moved to BC. Yes, it’s a challenge at times, not to have a vehicle, but it’s worth it I think. It makes me proud that we took this step. Most people seem so attached to their cars. Its not impossible to live without them and you sure get a lot more exercise without one sitting there in the driveway. 😉

    Hi Jim, that’s how I see our role too. We are stewards of the earth. We need to do what we can do. There’s always something however small, that does make a difference. It’s just too bad that so many people still seem not to care. 😦

    Hugs, G

  17. Hi! SO glad you are back! Wow- what a very timely poem. Your words ring very true~ no, we can not afford to hesitate… hopefully others will come to agree as well! Again- welcome back!

  18. What a poignant and timely plea. Surely we cannot hesitate. I love the way you describe our mother earth. I too imagine her embodied, struggling to adapt and survive. Not angry, but rather beleaguered. Surely we cannot hesitate to care for her now.

Thank you for your comments!

