My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections:Winter Wishes

6 Comments

                                                           

As the saying/song goes:

“You don’t know what you’ve got, till it’s gone“.

My thoughts lately have often been on the Prairies (where I grew up) and the Yukon (where we lived during the winter of 2007). I miss a good blizzard (truly!) and also the beauty and tranquility, walking through the freshly fallen snow.  No, I don’t miss the minus 30 C. temperatures or the driving on ice. LOL

The photo for this haiku/haiga is thanks again to Ruinwen, who has graciously been sharing some of her Maryland snow with me. 😉

For now, I’m just dreaming of a white winter, trying not to dwell on the brown one that’s actually been the reality again this year, here in BC. And all the consequences that go along with so little snow and rain.

PS: Here’s a link to my most popular post, day after day: Winter Refuge. Seems I’m not the only one, thinking of snow.

PSS: This is a  Yukon post, from Veggies...posted quite a while ago. More reasons why I love the winter and the North!

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

6 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections:Winter Wishes

  1. Great words, even though we’ve just come through the worst winter in 30 yrs in the UK. But it did look so beautiful at times.

  2. I love the snow. It’s been so many years since I have seen it. The consequences of your lack of snow and rain this winter are quite scary.

    Your haiku always makes me smile. You write so well!

  3. it’s true, we’ll always miss things when they’re gone .. now I kind do miss snow, not quite ready for spring

  4. It’s so nice to relive the storm through your beautiful words my friend. As always, a lovely haiku. *hugs* 🙂

  5. I didn’t know you lived in the Yukon. Were you in a city I could find on the map. Email, please?

    Snow is nice, but I am ready for spring. Our winter was very light, actually, but we did have snow on the ground most of it.

  6. Hi Tony, I always picture the UK being warm with lots of rain. I didn’t realise you got that much snow there. The weather is wonky, throughout the world it seems. 😦

    Hi Sel, The intense heat you describe at times in Australia sounds awful. And so dangerous in terms of fires too. It’s a constant worry here in the summer. Thanks for your kind words and continued support.

    Hi Lissa, We didn’t have winter, not really. Spring is nice but I love all the seasons. I’m not sure where you live actually, Ill have to check on my next visit, if you have your location given at your blog.

    Hi Ruinwen, And you are so nice to share your snow. 😉

    Hi SandyL, I added a link re: the Yukon at the bottom of this post. I posted this one a while ago, after returning from our stay in the Yukon. Hope you enjoy the virtual visit. 😉

    Happy Weekend and I hope to see you at OSI on Sunday for: “Aura”.

    Hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

