My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Contemplating the Mystery

17 Comments

                                                                    

Waiting for sleep, as a child.

Warm and cozy, safe and sound.

Familiar paintings of the saints and Jesus.

Mysteries to ponder.

Illuminated by the dim, hall lamp.

The wonder of the aura.

Never fully revealed or explained.

***

A vivid memory brought to mind, from my childhood. Waiting for sleep, looking at the religious paintings just outside my bedroom door, in the hallway. Wondering what the golden light around their heads, really meant.

No adults had more than a vague answer for me, as I recall.

**

Submitted for the OSI prompt: Aura

Photo: courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

17 thoughts on “Contemplating the Mystery

  1. Ah, the mystery of the aura. A fascinating subject well expressed.

  2. Beautiful sentiments! Your poem captures that breathless wonderment surrounding this sacred aura!
    (I think my last attempt disappeared! trying again!)

  3. You won’t believe it, G, but when I used to stay at my Grandmother’s house in Ireland there were religious paintings hanging in the hallway outside my bedroom door. I was positive they glowed in the dark and that they watched me. It was a little eerie but also strangely uplifting. Your wonderful poem has such a strong sense of the sacred and has reminded me of my visits to Ireland. Brilliant!

  4. That’s a wonderful poem. I remember similar experiences of those images. Other worldly and here. Wow. Well done, Geraldine.

  5. Wonderful painting and words to match.

  6. Hi Tony, And a very powerful mystery it was, as a child to consider.

    Hi Gemma, Your other comment got spammed for some reason. 😦 Thank you for the second try.

    Hi Sel, Wow, that is kind of amazing, isn’t it? We share quite a few similar experiences, don’t we?

    Hi Sandy, And thank you too friend.

    Hi Rob, The painting is rather unusual, isn’t it? I’ve never seen another portrayal of Mary and the baby Jesus, like this one.

    Hi Sweetest, Thank you.

    Wishing you all a wonderful, creative week, G

  7. I think the mystery of the aura is timeless…there is always such wonder and awe at those who radiate thier own inner light. A beautiful ode to this sacred blessing. *hugs* 🙂

  8. Oh I love that- and the picture is gorgeous! Auras are so fascinating to me- I have always wondered about them! Have a great week~~~

  9. Geraldine–
    This was so beautiful!
    I too wondered about the halos as a child…one more way that ‘those saints’ were different than the rest of us! Takes us a lifetime to undo some of the early images, yes?

    Thank you so much for this–really beautifully done–

  10. Such a tender, mysterious time that was. Me too. This was a lovely piece, G.

  11. Hi Ruinwen, And whether we can see them or not, our auras are still there. Fascinating.

    Hi Patti, Thanks friend and you have a great week too.

    Hi Beth, Maybe we aren’t as far from those saints as we might first believe? They were ordinary people that went on to do extraordinary things. Goodness is still all around us, we just have to take time to see it and experience it. Too much emphasis on violence and evil now and that’s how it takes over. There’s my rant!!;)

    Hi Christine, Thanks C and nice to read you’ve experienced this too.

    Happy Week, G

  12. Same for me, but back then, I didn’t question it. Maybe that is why I am open to this sort of thing now.

  13. It’s like my Monalisa’s aura…that up to now, nothing has been revealed about that mysterious smile….:)

    Very nice work of aura here!

  14. We had a few of those religious images, too, in a hall leading to our bedrooms as kids. I never got to ask about the aura–just thought it was for special people. Thanks for making me remember.

    Good wishes.

  15. Hi SandyL, I was always fascinated by auras and all related topics. I continue to be, more and more…

    Hi Sue, Thanks friend!

    Hi Amity, I enjoyed your post about Mona Lisa, definitely another wonderful mystery to behold.

    Hi Carlos, Welcome and thank you. I’m glad you found this meaningful.

    Happy Weekend, G

Thank you for your comments!

