My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

My Favorite Sign of Spring

9 Comments

 

This is an encore of  a previous Haiku Reflections post:

 Prairie Crocus Haiku.

I’ve always loved seeing the first crocus, coming up in the spring. A  burst of delicate mauve in stark contrast to the abundance of damp,brown spring soil.

 I’m not sure there will be many of these pretty gems  to take pics of here in our area, this year. It’s been a very dry winter. 😦 

For now, I will have to be content with file photos here. Hopefully there will be some spring bloom photos to enjoy, at my favorite blogs.

What is your favorite sign of spring?

Original photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

9 thoughts on “My Favorite Sign of Spring

  1. Wow, I sure can see why that is a favorite. Strange, isn’t it, how a glimpse of a flower, or even the scent of one can lift our spirits?

  2. Beautiful picture. Yes, the Earth is coming alive again.

  3. I love those words “soft hues”. After a season of white those little purple flowers were such a blessing. But my favorite thing of Spring is the cherry blossoms. On the street where I grew up they line the entire length of the road. All you can see is an archway of pink. And then at the first rain or wind they would fall, making pink snow. I will miss that this year. *hugs* 🙂

  4. Beautiful poem and picture! Perfect for this early spring day!!! Can’t wait until everyday is truly springlike~~~

  5. Good pics and i like the poem

  6. Hi SandyL, It certainly can!

    Hi Tony, Changes, day by day. What a special time of year.

    Hi Ruinwen, I love cherry blossoms too. What a beautiful scene you described, thank you!

    Hi Patti, It’s coming quickly here in BC. We need rain though.:(

    Hi Travel, Welcome and thank you.

    Happy Thursday, G

  7. Spring is being slow out here. All that hesitation. Lovely, hopeful verse.

    Good wishes.

  8. We are going into autumn now. The camellias are flowering and the maple leaves are turning orange. I love how subtle the change is.

    Crocuses are beautiful!

  9. Lovely signs of Spring in your world 😉
    Hugs and blessings,

    Sacred Ruminations

Thank you for your comments!

