My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Overt Beauty

22 Comments

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

Do we ever tire of Summer’s dazzling display?

Submitted for the OSI prompt: Overt

 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

22 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Overt Beauty

  1. Very true. You could never tire of such scenes.

  2. Beautiful picture & words.

  3. Definitely not possible to tire of! Thanks for joining us this week, my friend.

  4. I agree, that is a scene to see everyday.

  5. How can one truly feel tired..that also with pink around.. lovely lines, these!

  6. What a luscious display of over beauty!

  7. I mean “overt” beauty!!

  8. I remember as a girl never understanding the fuss about flowers and now the take my breath away again and again! Opening their centres, unfurling their beauty, sharing their scent, stamen and stigma on show waiting for pollination…definitely wonderously overt displays!:)

  9. such a rich pink, what is that?

  10. Your words have captured the essence of this beautiful scene.

  11. Hi Tony, I totally agree!
    Hi Harshad, Thank you and welcome!
    Hi Gautami, Love it too, one of my fav colors!
    Hi Sandy C, It’s nice to be back. Blogging…can’t seem to get it out of my system. 😉
    Hi Sandy L, If it could only stay that way.
    Hi Ramesh, So true. Welcome to MPP.
    Hi Jane, Thanks for the prompt this week and for your kind words.
    Hi Sister J, Welcome! I know what you mean. I wasn’t so “dazzled” as a younger person, when it came to nature. I certainly am now.
    Hi Sue, I don’t know. I’m not good with plant names. Anyone?
    Hi Joe, Thanks dear!

    Hope you all have a wonderful week filled with beauty and good things.

    Hugs, G

  12. obviously…overtly…it’s not!

    yes, we don’t tire what beautiful summers may bring us, have brought us…instead…we so loved it!

    short and sweet Geraldine…loved it!

  13. Not when it’s PINK!
    🙂

  14. hello it is nice to see you posting again, you have been missed and hope all is going well… seeing as pink is my absolute fav when it comes to flowers no i can never tire of the beauty of flowers… right now my garden is blooming everywhere and the colors… every day i go out to see what is new…

  15. Oh, how truly lovely! Summer gifts are, indeed, jewels. Your new site is superb, too!

  16. I could look at those glorious pinks forever. They are to die for!

  17. Hi Amity, Yes, yes and yes!!! Thank you.

    Hi Sallee, I sooooo agree. 😉

    Hi POP, Oh so nice to see you again (and your yummy avatar!) I can’t seem to give up blogging so why try? LOL Its more fun with my new computer too. Everything looks so much better on the new wide screen. I had a dinosaur before!

    Hi Sue, Thanks dear friend. I kind of like the new look too. WP is really adding a lot of new themes lately. Had to give this one a whirl.

    Hi Sel, Aren’t they? Nature gives me hope. If there’s that much beauty out there, can we really complain about the world?

    Hugs and Happy Tuesday, G

  18. Hi!!! So very glad you are back!!! Yippee! Beautiful image and poem…and NO never tire of any of it! Hope all is well with you Geraldine!

  19. Summer doesn’t normally look like that at my place! Beautiful.

  20. Geraldine, this is a beautiful little haiku. And ‘overt’ is almost too mild a word for these sparkling beauties of the flower bed! 🙂
    ..
    Been missing for a while. We are still on holiday, are back to London with daughter and family after a Baltic cruise, and have limited time for blogging.
    Some posts are also at http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/
    ..

  21. Hi Patti, Thank you for your kind words. Im glad to be back. The new computer helps too, everything looks better!!LOL

    Hi Carrie, This photo was taken a while ago, early summer, it was raining a lot at the time, everything so lush. Now it’s turning brown in places. 😦

    Hi Jim, HOW EXCITING. You will have to share tons of travel pics on your return.

    Thanks for stopping in, Hugs, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

