My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Cocoon

19 Comments

 

 

                              

And so it begins…

The fragile cycle of life.

Fleeting.

Tentative.

Glimpsed for one brief measure.

Our history and time.

The transformations that will….

mark our place.

Name, our space.

Let it count.

Let us count.

To leave something better.

Substance, character, memories…

that remain unchanged.

Onward we venture.

Free-flying.

Unstoppable.

To complete our rise to glory.

On silken wings.

                    

♥♥ 

Submitted for the OSI prompt: Cocoon

Photo courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

19 thoughts on “Cocoon

  1. Worded beautifully, Geraldine. My hopes, too.

  2. Bring it on, Geraldine. This is wonderful. Palpable hope!

  3. wonderfully stated. to live and make our mark on life, to have it mean something is what we all struggle to assure. have a great night.

  4. the momentum and power of your words is breathtaking. Thank you.

  5. This is very powerful, I agree. Beautifully written.

  6. Oh, please let it count. I would do anything to make it count. It is my fervent prayer. This is beautiful, Geraldine. It made me punch my fist in the air and weep a little bit at the same time. So lovely.

  7. Poignant and beautiful! Especially love the challenge of:
    “The transformations that will….
    mark our place.
    Name, our space.
    Let it count.
    Let us count.”
    Well said!

  8. I think you describe the cycle of life. I think we all want to make it better. I think we all want to sore. Uplifting thoughts.

  9. Hi SandyL, Thanks Sandy. It’s a thought that comes to mind for me, many days.

    Hi SandyC, Glad you enjoyed it, thanks friend.

    Hi Naquility, A lifelong process, that’s for sure.

    Hi Tammie, Your comment is so special, thank you T!

    Hi Joe, I’m glad you enjoyed it dear Joe.

    Hi Sel, You DO count Sel and what you do counts, I have no doubts on that.

    Hi Gautami, Nice to see you again and thank you.

    Hi Tony, Thanks Tony, appreciate your comment.

    Hi Gemma, I was happy with this poem. I wrote it in about 5 minutes actually. Sometimes that’s how our best work seems to happen it seems. From the heart to the page. At least that’s the way it is for me. So glad you could stop in.

    Hi Rob, Glad to see you again Rob and thank you. So much of your work is uplifting to me. Glad I could return the favor.

    I will be around to visit all of you, very soon, G

  10. This was just perfect- I loved your interpretation! And the image is beautiful as well!

  11. Onward we venture.

    Free-flying.

    Unstoppable.

    To complete our rise to glory.

    On silken wings.

    Beautifully crafted magical words, these, Geraldine! Free flying oh, how much one needs God to be on his side…to be able to do that..

  12. The idea of the new butterfly as representing eternal hope is a great one.

  13. Hi Patti, I love this photo too, from Flickr, it was my inspiration.

    Hi Ramesh, Thank you for your kind words.

    Hi Rinkly, Long time no see, so nice you could stop by today and thank you!

    I’ll be by soon to read your Cocoon interpretations.

    Hugs, G 🙂

  14. “And so it begins…

    The fragile cycle of life.

    Fleeting.

    Tentative.” I liked this part alot. Nice effort.

  15. free flying
    on silken wings…
    for one brief measure

    this captures so well the fragility and weight of this moment in eternity.

  16. Hi Nithin, Welcome to MPP. I’m so glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Sue, Oh so nice of you to say, thank you!

    Hi Gabrielle, That fragility becomes more obvious to me each day. Thanks for stopping in.

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend, wherever you may be, G

Thank you for your comments!

