My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Shades and Textures of Green

7 Comments

 Another color post.

Green is my favorite color, for so many reasons.

 I was thinking about not only the many shades of green as I took these pics, but also how varied the textures in nature are  too.

If we need assurance that miracles still happen, we need only look at all the beauty of green that surrounds us, especially this time of year.

                                                                                                                                                                            

A file photo taken earlier this year as the tulips welcomed spring.

                                             

The pine trees refreshed after the storm. How fragrant they were too.

                                   

                       Such a vivid shade of green. Ferns in abundance.

                                        

         The mighty oak leaf. This was tiny tree though, just starting life.   

                                     

Another vibrant, almost neon green.

                                            

I love the hidden wonders. Such shiny, smooth, tactile leaves.

                           

Edged in creamy white. Nature’s paintbrush does great detail work!

                                              

Love all the textures here.

                                     

    Sumac, am I right?

              I remember this one from some Autumn pics.       

                                                         

 

      

Still in need of more rain. 

      By far, the best color-renewer there is.     

***

                                                    

What is your favorite color and why?  

 

                         

                          

 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

7 thoughts on “Shades and Textures of Green

  1. i absolutely love that first shot and the nature’s paintbrush one. green is such a dominant color in nature and provides such eye catching differences. in nature it’d be hard to narrow it down to one favorite color but, throughout life blue has always been my favorite. hope all is well. have a great day.

  2. Hey, everything looks better with green. This is a very nice collection of photos. For some reason. they make me feel cooler.

  3. All that green makes me happy. It’s my favorite color. It is the color of life itself.

  4. So many shades of green in nature. This is a good variety of greens and also so many textures.

    My favorite color? Hard to say, I kinda like them all.
    Green would be close to the top of the list.

  5. Green is one of my favourite colours too. I think it is the essence of nature. It is also a very soothing colour and for me, a mood lifter. Thank you for sharing such wonderful photos!

  6. I love the greens of nature — not so big on green clothing or green walls. You’ve captured the range so nicely in these pictures. What amazes me every spring, is that after the long dull winter, nature remembers the color exactly, reproducing it precisely every spring; it fades in my memory but not in the world’s.

  7. Hi Naquillity, Blue makes me feel kind of blue but it was my mom’s fav color so it’s special to me. Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi SandyL, It does indeed.

    Hi SandyC, I’ll say it again, it is indeed! 😉

    Hi Joe, Thanks Joe, for always supporting my work, all varieties!

    Hi Sel, And what wonderful greens you’ve shared over at your blog too, thanks for that!

    Hi Sue, That is a very interesting thought Sue. And so very true.

    Hugs and Happy Weekend. It’s trying very hard to rain here, I hope it does. More pics on the way soon. A couple more color-themed posts too. G

Thank you for your comments!

