My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

My Darling Little Girl

16 Comments

                                                               

 

Not a day goes by that I don’t think about you, miss you.

You left on your final journey, one year ago.

And with your passing.

A daily ray of sunshine that would never shine again.

                                                             

I miss all your funny little ways.

How you loved to pace up and down at dinner time.

How you always knew when I was sad and would come up and cuddle.

Your amazing MEOOOOOW!!!!!

How could so much sound come from such a tiny body?

                                                                            

Twenty-one years of friendship.

Unconditional love.

You added so much joy to every day.

A beginning when  you came to live with me that I will never forget.

An ending that I still struggle with.

                                                             

Enjoy the beauty and warmth of a sun-filled cat heaven.

And know that your Meowmie will be with you, one day, once again.

Thanks Mitzi, for all that you gave to me.

More than you will ever know.

I love you, My Darling Little Girl.

 

           ♥♥                

 

PS: This was one of the last photos that I took of Mitzi.  She was so energetic and full of spirit and fun, right up to the last couple of days of  her life.  A feline life, well lived.

                                    

Also submitted for the OSI prompt: Beginning

 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

16 thoughts on “My Darling Little Girl

  1. Oh, Geraldine. This is heart wrenching. I get it. I really get how much we grieve for our pets. There is not a single one of my pets who have passed on from cats to budgies to goldfish that I do not think of frequently and shed a tear or two for. They are in our hearts forever, aren’t they?

    Mitzi was beautiful. I can tell she was really special. I just want to give you a big hug today. XXXX

  2. This touches my heart, Geraldine. That kind of friendship is beautiful. Your words honor this friend and this friendship with such heart. God bless, friend.

  3. They truly wrap their little paws around our hearts, don’t they!
    🙂
    Take comfort in the fact you had those 21 years. That was very special.
    (((hugs)))

  4. They become family..

    Great tribute,

    red sand

  5. Sad and beautiful, heartfelt words.

  6. very heartfelt poem.. they become family for sure..

  7. What a beautiful tribute!

    I too found feline inspiration in this week’s post.

    peace,
    JP/deb

  8. Wow, 21 years is amazing, how blessed you were by her feline presence…hope this poem is the beginning of powerful healing.

  9. I suddenly felt sad for my son…he once had a cat he so loved when he was yet a kid and then it was suddenly lost, nowhere to be found…and my son cried a lot!

    And then a few months back, say after 12 years, he suddenly remembered his beloved cat and uttered “Mom, I missed my Kiwing, where must he be now? he asked. Kiwing was the name. My eyes moistened with the sudden remembrance of his beloved cat.

    So this poem of yours, I can really relate to it on my son’s behalf.

  10. Lovely.. yes, pets are the real example of unconditional love.. wish we could learn.. do they pass judgments on how one looks , how one talks, how one stands.. well..one can only remember.. lucky Mitzi, she had you..

  11. Hi Sel, I know you’ve had a lot of pets of many varieties. Your love for them shines through each post you write about them. As for Mitz, it still is heart wrenching. She was one of 4 cats I had together for over 10 years. We called them “the herd” and what a joy they all were. So beautiful and so much fun to come home to every day. When they started passing (3 went, 3 years in a row, in February each time) it was just shattering. Mitz stayed with us for a couple more years after that and left last August. So now the herd is back together, once again.

    Hi Sandy C, And what a beautiful friendship it was.

    Hi Sallee, Ahhhh, what a great line, paws around our hearts. Maybe that’s why we feel so warm and fuzzy when they are close by. 😉 What a lovely sweet comment.

    Hi Gautami, They do indeed.

    Hi Tony, I have trouble re-reading this, even now. It truly was heartfelt, every line.

    Hi Leo, Yes, indeed.

    Hi Jane, I loved your photo especially. Our Lois use to do that with the kitchen tap, too funny!

    Hi Beth, I tried to leave a comment at your blog (loved your take on this prompt, so powerful) but it wouldnt work. It is a process, healing…the passing of Mitzi was so hard, for many reasons. Thanks friend.

    Hi Amity, What a touching story about your son. We never forget, do we? Those we love are with us forever.

    Hi Ramesh, And they are always there for us, every day. They don’t have mood swings or bad days. They are truly the epitome of unconditional love.

    Hugs to all of you,G

  12. Oh my god, you reminded me of my cat long time ago too, he leave this world 6 years ago just before I came back from Korea to Singapore, I missed him badly T_T , and how beautiful is this, I am deeply moved by your words, thank for sharing TwT

  13. Oh Geraldine- what a beautiful tribute to sweet Mitzie! Grieving goes on for such a long time – I know- but you will get through it and come out the other side. Hold on to those images and memories- they are yours forever.

  14. We miss our little Mitzi, every day. She was a joy and she will always be in our hearts.

  15. What a beautiful tribute to your sweet Mitzi.
    *hugs to you my dear friend.

  16. Hi Riika, I’m glad my words touched your spirit Riika. We never forget our beloved pets, do we?

    Hi Patti, She will never ever be forgotten. She was so special and one of a kind. I love all cats but Mitzi, top of the list for so many reasons. I’m tearing up…

    Hi Joe, She loved you too.

    Hi Ruinwen, Thanks for your kind words dear friend.

    Hugs to all of you and your furry friends too if you have any, G

Thank you for your comments!

