My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

End of Summer Reading

8 Comments

I am finally getting around to reading (make that re-reading) some of my favorite summertime books. After all, it’s still August. 😉

At the top of that list is: Beachcombing at Miramar. I thought I’d share a few quotes from the book, that I noted this time around, that spoke to me at this time in my life. From Richard Bode:

“I feel as though I am an animal with a homing instinct,tending toward the one place on earth that is native to me. I have spent a lifetime moving toward a specific place- a place called Miramar. The journey has been long and arduous, but it is a journey that I had to understake, for I know now that as long as I remained in a place that was wrong for me, I was not in the real world.”

“This is the true joy in life. The being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one, the being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; the being a force of Nature instead of a feverish selfish little clod of ailments and grievances, complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy.” One of his favorite quotes by George Bernard Shaw.

“I did not realize when I was younger, but I do now. Those individuals who seem most resolute, who seem so sure of themselves, are often the one who have lost thier way. They rush about, expending enormous amounts of energy presenting a picture of themselves to the world, a picture they want us to believe; but after a while the picture wears thin and we see through to the frightened soul inside.”

“The creation of an authentic work of art, the creation of an authentic life- they are one and the same. Neither can be accomplished as long as affectation obstructs the way. The life that lives behind a mask, that calls attention to itself, is doomed to fail.”

If you haven’t read this beautiful book, I highly recommend it. Here’s the original post and comments that I wrote about Beachcombing at Miramar and some of my other fav. summer reads. Favorite books, any time of the year, that’s more accurate.
Happy Reading!

PS: On a completely different topic, I am having a half-price earring sale, over at my new Etsy Shop for the month of September.

Hope you have time to stop by!

Fall is on the way.Bring on those warm, wonderful colors! 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

8 thoughts on “End of Summer Reading

  1. summer is a great time to catch up on some reading. i’ve been reading Success with Wildlife Photography by Steve and Ann Toon and The Animal Dialogues by Craig Childs. Each have been great. hope all is well. have a wonderful day.

  2. I still haven’t read it. The book was out of the library when I went for it, and then I forgot. That is something that happens to me often. Guess I need to make a list.

    Lately, I have been reading Nevada Barr’s books, and just finished a good one by Anita Shreve, called Body Surfing.

  3. Your penultimate quote sure does speak to me. Beautiful post, friend.

  4. I haven’t read it either. My local library doesn’t carry it. I’ll try and track it down because it does sound good!

  5. It sounds like a beautiful book. Its nice to read things that touch us. 🙂

  6. Hi Naquillity, Thanks for stopping in!

    Hi SandyL, I think it’s still a very popular book with a lot of people. Hope you enjoy it,when you do get a copy.

    Hi SandyC, I KNOW you would love this book Sandy. I gave away about a dozen copies when I first got it, I was that impressed. I wish I still had a spare, I’d send it to you.

    Hi Sel, It is so worth it Sel, a gem!

    Hi Ruinwen, It is indeed.

    Hugs and Happy Mid-week, G 🙂

  7. Happy September 1st- the true sign fall is on her way (as Chicago is in the mid 90’s with super high humidity). The quotes were outstanding- thanks for sharing- I will have to check the book out. Have a good week- what’s left of it!

  8. I will get that book in the mail to you this weekend, friend. I am very bad about these things. I don’t know why. I have resolved to prepare myself for the post office for Saturday.

    I am standing between the adventure of school and looking back at summer and the desire to be in North Carolina. These visions coalesce into a dream of tomorrow that I can’t resist. Somehow, delaying going to the post office prolongs summer. I am ridiculous.

Thank you for your comments!

