My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

We are the choices…

28 Comments

….that we make. 

A very wise person must have written that line.

                                             

Our choices define us.

Give a framework to the future.

And sometimes, close the door on people and things,

best forgotten and left behind.

                            

Life is full of choices.

       A series and connection.      

We cast our net.

We take our chances.

                           

Life’s potential grinds to a halt without our:

 good/so-so/better late than never/sometimes downright bad

 choices.

                                

Pick one and go for it!!!

♥            ♥

 Happy Fall everyone!

 My photo “choice” for this post is to celebrate the return of my favorite season. 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

28 thoughts on “We are the choices…

  1. very strong post. choices definitely have a way of moving us into a different position. it can be refreshing as possibilities open up for us. hope all is well. have a great night.

  2. So wise and beautiful and true, my friend. I love this. We create our destiny. There is an art to knowing it.

  3. The right or wrong choice can alter so much. I always try to listen to my gut, my soxth sense as I make a decision. That little voice in my head is usually right. Hope your choices lead you to what you are seeking.

  4. I think the saying, “Your thoughts are either an asset or a liability” applies well here.

    Also, “Your thoughts are your biggest obstacle”. Every second of every day we make the choice to be a certain person. The reason we’re here at this second in time is due to the poor or great choices that we’ve made.

  5. I enjoyed your OSI post…choices have a powerful impact on our lives. PS, I enjoyed your fall greeting and the photo is lovely and colorful.

  6. There is a sense of contented identity when we realise that we create, we activate and in fact we are the heart-beat of choices! Lovely thoughts!

  7. There are choices. However, at times we are blind to those. I liked what you say here.

    ode to shoes

  8. Yes-“We are the choices that we made !”
    I love these “Life is full of choices. A series and connection. We cast our net. We take our chances.” Beautiful poem.

  9. oh yes, Geraldine.. we are indeed what we choose to be 🙂 good one!

    My OSI
    🙂

  10. Yes, those choices are certainly important. nice one.

  11. So true. Our choices make what we are.

  12. So very true…its always… we choose..well written..

  13. Pick one and go for it, indeed. SOmetimes we get caught up in the idea that one choice is ‘right’ and the other ‘wrong,’ and we end up doing nothing!

  14. How wonderful to read. Love the colours very much. Thank you for this entry !

  15. Been thinking of you today. I have my book ready to go, but I want to put one or two other things in the parcel, and they’re not here yet…. Will follow through asap!

  16. Thank you to everyone who’s stopped by to comment. Ill be visiting soon. Today being Labour Day, plan to spend it out and about and OFF the ‘puter. 😉

    Wishing you a wonderful week, G

  17. I love this post and I love the word “choice”. “Life is full of choices. A series and connection.” That sums up a lot of my thoughts lately…and some of those connections have turned out to be bad choices, but they have changed me. Final thought on choices…I CHOOSE FALL!!! yay! Love the pic!

  18. Wise words – the beautiful photo is so indicative of the variety of choices!

  19. A beautiful sentiment to remember…we are the choices that we make. A lovely poem filled with much truth. *hugs*

  20. I very much agree, Geraldine, and I love the way you say it. Your words are inspiring…
    The photo is so beautiful!
    xoxoxo

  21. Hi Patti, I chose fall too. 🙂

    Hi Sue, You know, I never thought of that, I just loved the amazing colors. Good point my friend.

    Hi Ruinwen, I’m glad you enjoyed this work R.

    Hi Vesper, I’m so glad you are blogging again. See you soon.

    Hugs and Happy Tuesday, G

  22. Very upbeat here, Geraldine! I like it. 🙂
    ..

  23. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    ** AN ENCORE POST FROM MY SEPTEMBER 2010 ARCHIVES. STILL RINGS TRUE FOR ME. HOPE YOU ENJOY THIS POST FOR THE FIRST OR SECOND TIME. ;<)
    HAPPY WEEKEND!

  24. Beautiful image, stunning words and oh so true, you have to make a choice. Sometimes it seems I’m at standstill, need a push, and it will come sooner or later, this one came as a shock. Smile, you probably will, but my lucky pouches have worked their charm on me: I have done the impossible. I’ve accepted everything, I know I won’t get a house, or a car or my Sammi back, I know noise, the city is now part of this life that I’ve rejected so far. I don’t anymore. I accept it as it it. Acceptance is truly a miracle. And although I won’t post the most beautiful Fall photos ’cause it’s too far away well there are other things to photograph, other things i can share. We are the choices..ok I needed a gentle push….thank you G.!

  25. Actually the more I think about it I realized that this positive change in me isn’t due to some lucky pouch no matter how pretty they are, but it comes from finding a person, so kind, so loving, that she lifts you up, and you know no matter who has hurt you, and just how deep the pain is, she takes it away, every time, i call her angel, you know her by Margie she is the change in my life she is the one who stands by me and never ever judges, no so it’s not a pouch, it’s a person, and I’ll be forever grateful for her…

  26. So very true. And how would we know good without having know bad?

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  27. Wonderful post, Geraldine, and you are so right…some choices we make may not be the best, but they’ll be another stepping stone and learning experience from which we grow…hope you are doing well! Love your photo, too! I just posted a fall haiku, as well, and I love the colors in both of our photos, but they clash right up next to each other…fall is one of my favorites, too! Take care, Lauren xx

Thank you for your comments!

