My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Word of the Week: Kindness

8 Comments

 

 

  

I’m starting a new series of posts here at MPP: Word of the Week.

I’ve chosen “kindness” as my first word of the week because I think it’s such an important thought to keep in mind, for so many reasons.

Even the smallest acts of kindness: a smile, a hug, a compliment can make such a difference.In some cases, having so much more impact in another person’s life and day than we will ever realise. Perhaps even life-changing. Something  to contemplate and consider.

I hope that my “word of the week” every Monday will be inspiring and/or thought-provoking. Focusing on a single word, like a mantra can be very powerful.

Hopefully the word kindness will come to mind throughout your week and you will find new opportunities to show kindness. Perhaps in ways that you hadn’t thought about before.

I’ll sign off with one of my favorite ways to be kind:

Sending a big hug your way. 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

8 thoughts on “Word of the Week: Kindness

  1. that is a wonderful word to carry forward throughout the week … I’m attaching it to my computer monitor as a reminder 🙂

  2. Very good idea, Geraldine. I will work on this word.

  3. This is a great idea. I, too, will work on this word. I will be thinking of a way to share this concept and link back to you on my blog. I think you are on to something very cool.

  4. Wonderful idea. And, yes, kindness is something that we forget too often. Something to think about… Thank you!
    *many hugs*

  5. yeah!!!if all the people will have kindness in their heart, the world will be better…
    hope you check my blog
    http://scjcircleofthoughts.blogspot.com.

    thanks

  6. Hi Jane, That’s great about the visual reminder, glad you liked this idea.

    Hi SandyL, The opportunities are out there, every day.

    Hi SandyC, I’ve been thinking of doing this series for a while. What better word than Kindness to start things off. Let me know if you link from this post, thank you!

    Hi Vesper, I am so glad to see you again and thank you.

    Hi Haisey, Welcome and I will certainly stop in soon.

    On a personal note, I had the opportunity to show some kindness yesterday to a complete stranger. Standing in line at our local food Co-op, I struck up a conversation with a woman behind me who seemed to want to chat, needed to chat…turned out she was on a quick trip out from taking care of her 94 year young mom! A respite worker was holding down the fort so to speak. We had quite a chat, I ended up crying (of course) and at the end, I impulsively gave her a big hug and said: “your mom will never forget you and how you are taking care of her now” . She thanked me again and again. I think she and I were meant to chat and I hope my bit of kindness shown helped her at this difficult time in her life.

    Being a full-time caregiver is very draining, at least it was for me (my mom already had some dementia then and was very aggressive at times) and I did that for a couple of years with very little help.

    I hope you all find a special way to show kindness this week and if you can, stop back to share with us.

    Hugs to all, G

  7. You are in the right place at the right time. Always, I think.

    For you:

  8. Kindness is crucial in life. I have come to believe that. It is life-changing in so many respects. The smallest of kind acts can change the course of someone’s day. I strive to be kind wherever I can.

Thank you for your comments!

