My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Word of the Week: Tranquility

6 Comments

This week’s Word of the Week is: Tranquility.  

We all need to find time every day for moments away from the noise and hectic pace of our everyday lives. To make time for tranquility and quiet reflection.  

More and more, people are realising just how damaging noise pollution can be both physically and mentally.  

Here’ s a poem and photo I posted a while back, with a rather tranquil theme.  

We can all learn a lot about tranquility watching birds at rest. They are masters of the art. 🙂   

  
 
 

    

 
Rest awhile…
Far from the struggles and strains of life.
Find that place and seal it in your heart.
To pause; retreat to.
Where grace always dwells.
 
Rest awhile…
Put back the smile.
Somewhere lost.
Now: softly, silently returned.
 
Rest awhile…
Peace:
A beacon in the dark.
Sheltered, nurturing.
Safe and sublime.
 
Rest awhile…
Treasured moments.
Tranquil dawns.
May your tomorrows.
 Outlive life’s storms.
 
♥ ♥

 
Wishing you a wonderful, tranquil week.
 
Original post with reader’s comments.
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

6 thoughts on “Word of the Week: Tranquility

  1. Soothing, rhythmic and wise. A lovely choice for these busy times.

  2. A great poem and photo to match this great word–all, a beautiful invitation.

  3. A beautiful poem. The repetition of ‘Rest awhile…’creates a soothing rhythm that is very tranquil. Just what I needed to read today.

  4. As Selma said, the mantra “rest awhile” definitely exudes tranquility.

    lovely!

  5. What a beautiful respite this post was. Such a gorgeous swan. One cannot see a swan floating gracefully on the water and not think “serenity in motion.” Your poem slowed my heart and mind and made me take a moment to watch the sun rising in the sky. The vivid colors day was painting as light conquered the night were breathtaking. Yet I wouldn’t have noticed if I had not looked up from my computer screen. *hugs* 🙂

  6. Hi Sue, Glad you enjoyed this work and thank you!

    Hi SandyC, I’ve done my work then! 😉

    Hi Sel, I thought so too, after I finished this poem.

    Hi Jane, And ditto!!!

    Hi Ruinwen, I just found out recently that swans are actually rather aggressive birds, go figure! They always are pictured so serenely, floating along. I once saw black swans (in Ontario) and they were also amazingly beautiful. I am SO glad my work helped to give you a time of peace in your day, it makes me truly happy to read that.

    Hugs my friends and Happy Mid-Week, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

