My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

We Must Never Forget

5 Comments

                                  

IN FLANDERS’ FIELDS

 

In Flanders fields the poppies blow

Between the crosses, row on row,

That mark our place; and in the sky

The larks, still bravely singing, fly

Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago

We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,

Loved and were loved, and now we lie

In Flanders fields. Take up our quarrel with the foe:

To you from failing hands we throw

The torch; be yours to hold it high.

If ye break with us who die

We shall not sleep, though poppies grow

In Flanders fields.

       

written by Major John McCrae in  May 1915

                                ♥♥                               

PS: No matter how many times I read this poem and through all the years; it always brings tears to my eyes.

Link to the original post.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

5 thoughts on “We Must Never Forget

  1. Yes, this is a poem that brings out so much emotion, especially for folks who have first hand connections to that war.

  2. It gives me the chills as it humbles me. Thanks for posting this.

  3. We should never forget. The people who served, in the past, now and in the future. And also all the people affected by war, in so many ways. So much suffering.

  4. It makes me cry too. God Bless all those who serve and have served their country. It is a noble act.

  5. As I said in the post, these words always bring tears to my eyes.

    We can never give up on peace, even if it only comes in small ways that we find it in our everyday lives. Acts of kindness,integrity, remembrance is part of that I think as well.

    Speaking of (lack of)integrity…I’ve been shocked to see people taking remembrance day poppies out of trays around here, and not putting in any money for them. What is the world coming to? 😦

Thank you for your comments!

