My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A New Year Begins…

9 Comments

I am really excited about this new year. I hope it’s off  to a very good start for all of you too.

My mantra for the year (let alone a week) is COMPLETE!

Doesn’t that have a nice ring to it: COMPLETE.

I’ve been thinking about all the projects I’ve had in the works for much too long now. It’s been a problem for me for many, many years. Lots of ideas, not enough focus on completion.

With that in mind, I have written out a list of projects to complete this year and also a monthly plan of projects to work on/complete during that particular month. I am really feeling good about this. I’m already off to a very good start and there’s still over 360 days to go! LOL

My previous books (cookbook and craft book) both took (way too many) years to complete. It took that final push/deadline to get them finished and in print. Now, I think I have planned out realistic goals that are actually achievable to complete in a year. Challenging but not overwhelming. Some writing projects, some craft-related projects, some blog/online related….etc.

 I know that last year came and went with not nearly the progress realised that I had hoped for. 😦

As they say: it starts with a plan. I’ve got mine, what about you?

                                      

On another topic, Mr. Cheddar has been busy too. 🙂Read about a new product he is endorsing and some other feline wisdom here.

 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

9 thoughts on “A New Year Begins…

  1. Same here. I intend to get a whole lot more done than last year. And, you are right, a plan is necessary to do it. Let’s keep each other inspired.

  2. Happy New Year, Geraldine!
    I couldn’t agree more with you.
    ‘Complete’ is a good word for me. Yes, I hope to complete my novel. For me, daily plans work even better, i.e. a minimum number of words per day.
    Good luck and all the best to you and your loved ones.
    (Mr. Cheddar is gorgeous!)
    xoxoxo

  3. Yup- I agree- it all starts with a plan. Love the word you chose- please stop by to see which word I chose. Enjoy the rest of your week Geraldine!! Hugs!

  4. Hullo Mr Cheddar, you’re looking handsome in this new year!

    Complete. I can’t wrap my head around completion. It’s too final.

  5. Hi Sandy, I hope Jan. and 2011 is off to a good start for you. so far so good here. I am so pumped about all the projects and plans but as I’ve said, it’s completion that is key this year. Less can be more, if it means having the finished product/result. 😉

    Hi Vesper, I can’t wait to read your novel, I know you will finish it. You have a lot of determination and drive, I can tell from your writing. You go girl!!!

    Hi Patti, And a plan you have as well I know. Good luck with all goals Patti!

    Hi Carrie, I really like the word complete. It’s final but in a very good way. Mr. Ched says thanks and headbonks back to Hez. Looking oh so lovely amidst the “fluff”. 😉

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G

  6. PS: I just found and re-read this article re: A Writing Plan. It has some excellent and easy to implement suggestions. I hope you find it helpful too. I couldn’t agree more with this author, about not just having goals but also having a plan and realistic timelines to complete projects:

    http://www.writing-world.com/life/newyear.shtml

  7. I always have so many goals. So I think I’m going to work on one at a time this year. As an Aries I’m always eager to start new things…but lack the energy to finish them. So I will pick one goal for now…finish my Queen of Hearts shawl. If I can COMPLETE the shawl I started in ’04 then I will make another goal.

    Good luck with your plan for the New Year…I know that you will create some amazing things! *hugs* 🙂

  8. COMPLETE has such a beautiful ring to it. That’s what I want too – everything plan I have for 2011 to end up being complete. I will keep the good work vibes coming for both of us!!

  9. Hi Ruinwen, Ahhh….another Aries, that explains much about our kindred spirits. April babies: we were born with fire in our bellies!!! LOL
    I am working with a year plan and monthly plan. Projects to finish for each. Challenging but not over the top. I think it’s going to be so helpful for me, I get so scattered with too many ideas. I can’t wait to see your shawl! Good luck with all the goodies.

    Hi Sel, It does indeed, I love saying COMPLETE over and over, when I start down the “scatter path”. I will keep that thought for you too. You have such an amazing and unique talent for writing, it’s something that should be shared with a very large audience. I hope this is your year too!

    Hugs to both of you, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

