My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Nod and a Wink to Early Spring

9 Comments

 

It’s coming.

The quickening pace.

Fragrance of the still frozen, yet warming soil.

The underground network of…

Vines, forgotten seeds and satiny bulbs: wait.

Wait, for the soft touch of the Sun-fairy’s magic wand.

Shifts everywhere.

The horizon, the sun.

Birds return.

Water rises.

Animals venture out.

Earth awakens slowly. 

The promise: again renewed.

Life sustained.

As we wait for and anticipate.

The joyful arrival of  spring.

  

GHH 2011/revised 2014

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

9 thoughts on “A Nod and a Wink to Early Spring

  1. lovely rhythm in your greeting so spring. It is snowing here… I still embrace the depth of winter.

  2. The anticipation of spring is a beautiful thing, particularly after lots of snow and extreme cold. Seeing those first little green shoots is like being given a long awaited gift. Lovely poem, Geraldine!

  3. Nicely done. I can’t wait for spring.

  4. I love winter but I am also eagerly awaiting the spring. It comes so much earlier here in BC than where I cam from, the Canadian Prairies. there it’s usually mid-May before the warmth really appears and then it’s summer! I can’t imagine not living in places without the four distinct seasons. All have their magic to share!

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend, G

  5. It can’t come soon enough for me. Lovely poem, well expressed!

  6. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    UPDATE AND REBLOGGED JANUARY 12, 2012:
    Are you getting tired of winter? I really, REALLY am.
    We’ve had one drizzly, dark, dreary day after another, here in BC for weeks now.
    But spring does arrive here early and this year, I can’t wait.
    Hope you enjoy this encore post, celebrating the coming of Spring!
    Happy Week. :<)

  7. This is beautifully written. Makes me think of spring. I hope it arrives soon too. It’s been a dark, dreary winter.

  8. Every word you write is a blessing every photo a renewal of spirits, it is so beautiful as you are x

  9. Spring’s anticipation is a wonderful thing and you have written it beautifully. I love the photo also…It speaks anticipation.

Thank you for your comments!

