My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

My Favorite Spring Haiku!

6 Comments

                         

I was thinking about this photo and haiku the other day.

 How I love to see the first crocus in spring, pushing it’s way up through the earth, sometimes even the snow!

Such hearty, sturdy little flowers. Resilience in nature at it’s best.

For me, the crocus is my favorite sign of spring. In particular, the Prairie Crocus.

What is your favorite “sign of spring”?

 

Original photo courtesy of: flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Spring Haiku!

  1. I like this one, too! Without crocuses and hyacinths, guess I’ll have to go with the first 70 degree day with no wind. A reluctant spring here this year means that nothing is growing – but there are a couple of tiny green buds and a couple of birdsongs.

  2. I love the wildflowers, but the first spring birds are special, too. By the way, I saw my first hummingbird this afternoon. When I looked at the migration map, and found that they had already arrived in Maine, I got my feeder right out. Oh, I guess that is another spring thing.

  3. Geraldine,
    This is a really nice poem, it seems to reflect well the picture of the crocuses and the wonderful light in the photo. Everything seems shimmery in the picture and as well the poem.

    I like the spring flowers as well. But one of my favourite signs of spring is the first gentle rain, and the new rain smell.
    Brenda

  4. I always love your haiku and spring is a great inspiration for writing them.

  5. Hi Sue, It’s been a late spring here in BC as well. I planned to take some new pics last week but all I’m seeing is lots of dead twigs and brown grass so far. LOL Nice to see you again.

    Hi SandyL, You are SO lucky to have so many gorgeous birds, butterflies…to enjoy and to take photos of. I’m glad you share too!

    Hi Brenda, The Prairie crocuses are so special aren’t they? And as you can probably relate too, it was many a year that their “little heads” were pushing through snow, in Sask. ! I’m glad you enjoyed my haiku too.

    Hi Teri, I love haiku and the seasonal aspect of it is so special isn’t it? One of my fav poetry forms.

    Happy Weekend and Mother’s Day to all the Mums!!! G

  6. Your poem has me thinking of how we take our cue from mother nature in so many things.

Thank you for your comments!

