My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

By the Shore: A Home for Many

18 Comments

                                  

Also written for the OSI Tau-Ku Challenge

PS: Tau-Ku poems have a 6/2/8 syllable form. I really enjoyed trying this! 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

18 thoughts on “By the Shore: A Home for Many

  1. Lovely picture !
    So enjoyed this!
    Thanks, G.

    margie x

  2. Just my kind of post! It is lovely.

  3. Standing by a shoreline is a very serene place, isn’t it? I don’t know if it’s that whole ending and beginning thing that occurs where water meets land, but I always feel it. Thank you for your lovely, inspirational observations, Geraldine.

  4. Hi Margie, Thanks for stopping in. My first attempt at Tau Ku poetry, 6/2/8 syllables. This scene inspired me to give it a whirl!

    Hi Sandy, Thank you!

    Hi Selma, I stood there, thinking about all the unseen creatures living in those marshes, I’m sure there are many. Thank you for the compliment!

    Happy Weekend, G :<)

  5. Another interesting form of poetry, I’ve never heard of TauKu. This is very good. And so true about all the unseen creatures.

  6. Hi Geraldine ~~ I enjoyed reading your Tau-ku. Happy Tau-Day! 🙂
    Right away I thought of the poor wandering penquin who came up to here (Florida?). He has eaten over two pounds of sand thinking it was snowy sludge. Finally a group has taken him in and will take steps to rejunenate him and deliver him back to Antartica.

    I also wrote a Tau-Ku but mine is stuffy and used mathmetical terms and a formula for finding the circumference of a circle. [(2pi)X(R)=CC] I like yours. — it is on the link below.

    It isn’t easy for me to enter the contest. I will e-mail Andrée at OSI to see if she overslept. For the Pi-Ku there was a special to-do about it. Also I will mention that I have found your entry.
    You could e-mail me at jhovendic[at]yahoo.com if you know more. Thank you.

  7. Hi Joe, I remember standing in that spot, thinking about all that was unseen in this setting.

    Hi Sue, Thanks sue and how nice to “see” you again!

    Hi Jim, I dont know what’s up at OSI, it’s after 9 AM Pacific time and still no TauKu Challenge over at OSI. Hopefully soon. We’re ready, right!!! :<)

    Happy Tuesday, G

  8. Love the image! And love the gentle reminder in the last line! Beautiful!

  9. Lovely Tau! I used a favorite photo as prompt, too!

  10. Yes, often one forgets. Thanks for reminding.

  11. Hi Gemma, I’m so glad you enjoyed this work!

    Hi Kim, I was intrigued by this setting. It’s not the prettiest photo but it does bring to mind all the unseen creatures we can forget about at times. Thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Harshad, Nice to see you again Harshad!

    Happy Wednesday, G 🙂

  12. the intimacy of belonging…beautifully said!

  13. Beautiful photo of nature at it’s best. Wonderful tau-ku to match.

    ps, thanks for the heads-up.

    Hugs

  14. What a marvellous piece!

  15. this form was definitely fun to try, wasn’t it? love your tau-ku. we’ll have to continue writing for this form, won’t we? hope all is well. have a great night.

    ps. i absolutely love your header photo. all those rocks have such a zen feel.

  16. Hi Sandra, Thanks for visiting MPP and your thoughtful comment.

    Hi Teri, I thought you might want to give this a whirl! Can’t wait to see what you did for the challenge.

    Hi ShortPoems, Thanks so much.

    Hi Naquility, So nice to see you again. It was a lot of fun, I’m going to try another soon. And thanks about the header, it’s one of my fav file photos!

    Happy Mid-Week, G 🙂

  17. Hey there. I loved your tau-ku — I’ve been needing a moment to clear my mind, and the imagery in tau-ku helped me do just that. It’s quite an interesting poetic form, the tau-ku… 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

