My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Black Crow: A Tau-Ku Poem

19 Comments

                                                                                                 

         Submitted for the One Single Impression prompt: Silence

Also submitted for Animal Wednesdays 

        You can read more about the Tau-Ku form of poetry here.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

19 thoughts on “Black Crow: A Tau-Ku Poem

  1. Oh this is so neat Geraldine. The photo and poem were made for each other.
    So happy you joined us this week.

  2. This is excellent. The crow seemed to be pondering it’s next move/meal.

  3. Thank you for this and for sharing it with OSI. Perfect.

  4. You’ve captured the moment perfectly.

  5. You have captured the Crow’s attitude and habit very well!!

  6. Food, flight or may be he is creating a haiku there.. and if he is then what it could be..

    Here I am , and you?
    Don’t come, your footsteps scare me
    I don’t want to fly..

    Your picture and haiku inspired this.. thanks..that’s the power of good poetry.. inspiring always..

  7. love the pic and words!!

  8. I will bet he picks food! Nice one, Geraldine.

  9. Geraldine,
    This moment of stillness and silence illustrated with your photo and described with your poem are perfect, they go together so well.
    It feels in some way as though the crow is just enjoying hanging out in the warmth of the sun, and perhaps soon he will begin a leisurely search for a bite of something interesting.
    I so love this, crows are one of my favourite birds.
    Brenda

  10. Hi Teri, This was a very inspiring prompt! I do have to keep better track of the upcoming OSI offerings, I almost missed a goodie. 😉

    Hi Joe, I was so glad he stuck around long enough for a pic!

    Hi SandyC, Thanks so much friend.

    Hi Gautami, Thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Tony, I’m really enjoying Tau Ku poetry. The 2 syllables for the second line can be challenging,but for this one easy peasy!

    Hi Nanka, How nice to see you again and thank you!

    Hi Ramesh, Some good points you’ve brought up Ramesh, the secret thoughts of birds eh?

    Hi Sandra, Thanks so much Sandra.

    Hi SandyL, I think he did, he was pecking away for quite a while, under that tree LOL.

    Hi Brenda, How interesting that you like crows. They aren’t a fav bird for a lot of people, at least I don’t think they are? Thanks for your kind words.

    Happy Week, G 🙂

  11. I have sen them do this too. Very clever!

  12. What a gorgeous spot that crow is found himself in. He’s probably thinking – ‘This is the life.’ Love it!

  13. Perfect for Animal Wednesday!

  14. Hello Geraldine! Welcome to our *Animal Wednesday* Group!
    This is a great post…..photo and poem are exceptional! You will have to meet *Lo*…from *Studio Lolo*….a magnificent painter – whose totem is the Raven!!! She will love this!

    Again….welcome!!!!

    ♥ Robin ♥ (aka Lilacrobin)

  15. Geraldine, I cracked up when I read your poem. It is great. Most people take crows so seriously. Either they think they are bad or spiritual. Rarely do you see something funny written about them. I think it fits their personality perfectly. They are always up to something. HAW.

  16. P.S. I love your header photo. Someone was having fun with all that stone. Stone is one of my favorite items.

  17. P.P.S. I went back and read your poem again. I thought it read Food “FIGHT”. My mistake. Not near as funny to me now. Ha… Sorry for my inattention. I love crows.

  18. Hi Kathie, I was so happy this crow stayed around long enough to get a photo!

    Hi Sel, A bird’s life, lots of fun but some danger too. So free though….doesn’t that sound heavenly, soaring above it all!

    Hi Teri, Thanks Teri, I loved participating again today.

    Hi LilacRobin, I LOVE your blog name and thank you for your kind words.

    Hi Lisa, Too funny! A food fight would take at least 2 crows right? LOL

    Happy Animal Wednesday, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

