My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Obsessions…

17 Comments

In my “wild and crazy” days of not so long ago, my perfume of choice was: Obsession.

I had my share of other types of “obsessions” over the years. And most of them, I can’t blame/justify on being young and foolish either LOL.

Obsessions…a part of life but not what/who we can usually hold on to or make something that’s worthwhile from (in the big picture and grand scheme of life).

Good and sometimes… not so good.

For the most part, I’m still glad I had them.

♥♥

Submitted for the OSI prompt: Obsession

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

17 thoughts on “Obsessions…

  1. This is interesting, Geraldine.
    I think everyone will admit to having had obsessions now and then; some can be quite positive and motivate us to creating, and learning; while some possibly not so healthy.
    I like the photo of this perfume, a nice shot.
    This provided some food for thought.
    Brenda

  2. Indeed…obsessions can be different for each one.. but then to be obsessed may not be a healthy condidition.. but still we are… visit me to see whether my obsession is healthy..: )

  3. oh yes I’ve had mine, so many, too many…and it didn’t smell that good 😉

  4. I think my mum actually used Obsession perfume for a while when I was a kid… Nice to be reminded of that! *smile*

  5. Wow Geraldine…Obsession with perfume? Hmmmm….we’re on the same boat…but not tried CK’s Obsession…

    I am for Dolce and Gabbana’s Light Blue, Celine Dion and Clinique Happy…and many more…:)
    But I like this kind of obsession you know…makes me feel heavenly…:)

    Thanks Geraldine, my prompt is not really that hard, in fact it is very interesting, right?

  6. I always say, it is not what we did, but being wise enough to get out just in time and to have the experience to appreciate

  7. Hi Brenda, The obsessions that I’m referring to for the most part were usually about men/romances…. enough said on that topic. 😉 But there are all kinds of obsessions aren’t there, some good comes of everything along the way, if we only give it time….

    Hi Ramesh, I liked your take on this prompt very much! That’s what makes them obsessions doesn’t it? We don’t control every thought or action, it just whisks us along…maybe that ‘s why obsessions can be so tempting!

    Hi Lorraine, Oh my dear, I can relate to your “spot on” comment!!! Too funny but true too. Thanks for the LOL.

    Hi CC, Love your blog name and I’m so glad the photo conjured up a nice memory. I don’t wear
    perfume these days (too many chemicals!) but I did go through quite a few of these bottles LOL years ago.

    Hi Amity, A WONDERFUL prompt Amity and I’m so glad you are back at OSI.

    Hi Kodjo, Words of wisdom. We seldom do get out at the right time though, do we? That’s where the pain begins…

    Hugs and Happy Week, G

  8. Perfect pic and thoughts for the prompt Geraldine! Perfume- fragrance is an obsession of mine although “Obsession” is not. I love Jessica McClintock and Lauren and Beautiful and Amazing Grace and Glow (you get the picture although the list could go on and on)…Obsessions aren’t bad unless they harm someone or get in the way of living, right??? Have a great week!!! Hugs!

  9. Your post has me thinking about what causes an obsession and when an obsession becomes a worthwhile connection.

  10. Hi Geraldine ~~ I too had thought of the perfume but decided hands off. You branched off very nicely from it here. 🙂
    ..

  11. Without my obsessions, I’d never have accomplished much. So yay for obsessions! 🙂

    Nice fragrence too. 🙂

  12. G. I continue to wear that delish fragrance & still garner compliments, however, now I
    just dab on one small fingertip of the scent.
    I too have always embraced my obsessions, like collect chunky silver rings and red buttons.

  13. Hi Patti, I agree. Obsessions can be exciting and energizing unless someone is getting hurt along the way. That’s the hard part to avoid it seems.

    Hi SandyC, As with any relationship I think even our best intentions and highest hopes can be dashed along the way. People change and so does how we relate to those closest to us. But the thrill of it all to begin with, intoxicating!

    Hi Jim, That would have been interesting, you writing about perfume! I liked what you did write for this prompt though.

    Hi Madeleine, Now that’s the right kind of obsessions to have, bravo!!!

    Hi Shauna, Red buttons, I love those too. All buttons actually. A dab of perfume goes a long way. I just wish some people would follow that advice. Ever been behind someone who seems to have poured a whole bottle of perfume on themselves? I have, too many times LOL. 😉

    Happy Week, G 🙂

  14. fragances are adictive indeed…!

  15. Obsessions is an interesting word and it was fun reading about yours.
    If I had been here, my obsession would have been about daisies….of course.

  16. i cannot help but to ask i wonder what your mind conjures up when you take a whiff of that heavenly obsession… who do you see who do you remember….

  17. Hi Sandra, Good point. For me, certain scents conjure up memories. Thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Teri, Why am I not surprised! 😉 I think it’s so lovely how you incorporate your fav flower into so many beautiful forms of art. You picked a goodie!

    Hi Ms. Pie, I’ll never tell….LOL Scents do that though, I agree.

    Happy Thursday, G :<)

Thank you for your comments!

