My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

Green Leaves and a Classic Poem

7 Comments

Trees

I THINK that I shall never see

A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest

Against the sweet earth’s flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,

And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

 A tree that may in summer wear

 A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;

Who intimately lives with rain.

 Poems are made by fools like me,

But only God can make a tree.

                 

Joyce Kilmer (1886-1918)

                        

PS: I’ve been thinking about this beautiful poem during the past couple of weeks; while anticipating the start of Autumn. Lines from the poem come to me throughout the day as I look out at the still green leaves on the trees here.

A poem that I remember from grade school too, one we had to memorize. 😉

I hope you enjoy re-reading this beautiful classic too.

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

7 thoughts on “Green Leaves and a Classic Poem

  1. It is a classic. I love the tranquility of green leaves!

  2. Indeed it is very beautiful, she smiles throughout the poem, how amazing

  3. not to mention the photo it is tremendous I love it I love all trees

  4. I also love this poem. Thanks for bringing it back to enjoy. Sometimes we forget to do that.

  5. Hi Selma, Trees do have a calming effect, don’t they? I love sitting under a big beautiful tree, especially one that’s facing a beach. Bliss! 🙂

    Hi Lorraine, Thanks dear friend.

    Hi Teri, I like to read some of the “oldies’ now and then and remember when I first read/heard them. I savor each line in this poem. Glad you enjoyed it too.

    Happy Wednesday, G 🙂

  6. Thank you and you refreshed my memories too!! I remember having studied it in school too!! Just had the first line in my mind!!

  7. I remember this poem from school too. It’s a poem that lives on. Great photo too.

Thank you for your comments!