My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Finding My Muse

20 Comments

 

Like the sun piercing through the clouds.

My muse has returned.

A ray of light, reflected on the water.

And back from the page.

 

The creative: pull, drive, spark, gift, spirit….

Never really leaves us.

Although at times it can seem.

So very far away.

 

The utter joy of imagination. 

To catch and catch- up with the next idea.

Fingers flying across the keys.

No blank screen to contemplate.

 

I had a feeling about 20-12.

What a nice “ring” to those four numbers.

Two months into the year and going strong.

Energy to burn and full-steam ahead!

 

Finding my muse.

If only it could be poured into a bottle.

And savored, slowly and lovingly.

On those parched, uninspired days.

 

For now, that gray, cold mindset.

Well in check.

As I focus on thoughts, possibilities and dreams.

As it should be.

                          

GHH/ 2012

                 

Also submitted for the One Single Impression prompt: Muse

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

20 thoughts on “Finding My Muse

  1. Beautiful thoughts and words Geraldine! I can relate.
    Keep them coming.

  2. A lovely poem. Very inspiring and uplifting too.

  3. Very nice, Geraldine! I am glad your muse is doing so well.
    And you too! 🙂 Oh that we could bottle up those good days!

    “Fingers flying across the keys,” yes, I too compose on my keyboard.
    ..

  4. When I despair of my muse, I can appreciate her more when I find her again. This process has been helping me accept the ebb and flow of any creativity. The process is amazing! I’m glad you reminded me of all of this with your poetry.

  5. Geraldine, I love this photo, it illustrates the words really nicely.
    Good words as well, indeed.
    Good news too!!
    Have a lovely week!
    Brenda

  6. A writer at peace. Great words.

  7. What an interesting thought of putting ones muse into a bottle. I am a gulper. Maybe that is why my muse comes and goes so often. It takes a long time to fill a bottle of muse once it has been gulped.

  8. our muses sometimes need a vacation. but once they’re back. expect the unexpected.

  9. Hi Teri, That’s the plan…I’m filled with ideas and the drive to take them on and forward these days. It’s a wonderful feeling. I had quite a dry spell before that.

    Hi Joe, Thanks dear.

    Hi Jim, Another recent plus, my typing speed has gone up I think. I’ve always been a fast typist but lately even better, trying to capture those words before they get away. 😉

    Hi Andree, Welcome and thank you. It is an amazing process, I agree. Something we should never take for granted. I was so happy to see this prompt!

    Hi Brenda, It is good news for me, I agree. And being immersed in so many creative projects lately has also helped to cope with some other problems. Another plus. Thanks for all your kind comments at all my blogs. All appreciated. Speaking of blogs, another thing I’m enjoying again so much. I don’t even find the 4 on the go too much these days. 😉

    Hi Tony, Oh friend I like that thought so much. A great way to put it! Thank you.

    Hi Lisa, LOL, gulper eh? I know you are a very creative person so those gulps are being well used. If only there was such a bottle!

    Hi Sandra, Thank you!

    Hi Totomai, Yes, perhaps a rest, a change in thoughts to other more mundane things is part of the creative process we can’t side step. So true.

    I am REALLY looking forward to reading where all your muses took you with this prompt. Thanks Leo for the great prompt btw. Hugs, G 🙂

  10. Oh, so inspiring, energizing! Thank you dear.

  11. Very beautifully expressed.. wow..

  12. Lovely haiku ~ muse can be illusive ~ yet ‘rests’ in music are part of the overall composition ~ delightfully magical photo ~ thanks, namaste, carol (A Creative Harbor)

  13. A peaceful poem full of hope realized.

  14. Hi Harshad, Thanks for the lovely comment!

    Hi Ramesh, So glad you enjoyed this poem. One from the heart.

    Hi Carol, Welcome! It is a magical photo, I agree. Our local park, looking it’s best at the time LOL. So glad you enjoyed my work.

    Hi Cynthia, Hope realized, so true. Thank you and welcome to MPP.

    Happy Week everyone. Here’s to “the muse” taking us in wonderful directions, G 🙂

  15. I love it!
    Beautiful!

    Margie x

  16. oh if only we could bottle it you know…
    use it while you got it…
    and enjoy the ride

  17. This is a great and joyful poem.

  18. Hi Margie, I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem, thank you!

    Hi Brian, That’s my kind of “spirits” . 😉 If only we could bottle fair muse. Just enjoy the inspirations and ideas as they come, a very good suggestion.

    Hi SandyC, Thank you dear friend.

    Happy Mid-week, G :<)

  19. I love when my muse returns from vacation … especially when her bag is brimming with new ideas and energy. 😀 Oh happy day!

Thank you for your comments!

