My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Safe Harbour

14 Comments

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

                               

                      Dedicated today  ♥  in memory of my dear brother Wendell.                  

Also submitted as a prompt for Haiku Heights

Original photo courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

14 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Safe Harbour

  1. Beautiful words, matched with a beautiful photo.

  2. What could be better than this?

  3. This is lovely. Wonderful haiku and photo too. It’s nice that you dedicated this to Wendell.

  4. Very lovely, Geraldine.
    This is evocative of loss and safety as well, as well as love.
    It feels very powerful to me.
    Brenda

  5. Beautiful dedication, Geraldine. Very powerful and poignant emotions surface for any of us you have lost a love one!! Thank you for sharing!

  6. “shelter at ebb tide” These are lovely words. This haiku is a very nice dedication to your brother.

  7. Hi Mariya, Thank you and welcome to MPP.

    Hi SandyL, High praise indeed, thanks Sandy! Most appreciated.

    Hi Joe, Wendell loved the ocean and being by the water. He’s been on my mind for days. I wanted to do something special in his memory.

    Hi Brenda, That’s exactly the thoughts and emotions I was trying to convey, thank you Brenda.

    Hi Becca, My brother passed on tragically in his 30’s. A terrible loss. Such a multi-talented and passionate man he was. Thanks Becca.

    Hi Elleceef, Welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed my work.

    Hugs, G

  8. A lovely tribute to your brother.

  9. wow what a picture and your words accentuate it well…loved this geraldine…

  10. May we all find the port in the storm when we need it!

    Harbor No Ill Will

  11. a lovely way to remember your brother ~

  12. Hi Karen, Thank you. I think it’s important to remember and celebrate our loved ones who have already passed on. They are still with us, always.

    Hi Brian, Thanks for the lovely compliment Brian.

    Hi Grace, Thanks so much.

    Hi MMT, Yes, there are days when we need that more than others, I think. Such a lovely thought…a port in the storm of life.

    Hi Tammie, Thanks friend.

    Hugs and thanks so much for your visits to MPP, G

  13. Lovely haiku, wonderful photo and an amazing way to remember your brother!!! Thanks for sharing it!

Thank you for your comments!

