My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Halcyon Days

24 Comments

My suggestion for this Sunday’s One Single Impression  prompt: Halcyon

***

hal·cy·on:
1. A kingfisher, especially one of the genus Halcyon.
2. A fabled bird, identified with the kingfisher, that was supposed to have had the power to calm the wind and the waves while it nested on the sea during the winter solstice.
adj.
1. Calm and peaceful; tranquil.
2. Prosperous; golden: halcyon years.
Definition courtesy of : The Free Dictionary
♥♥
Some new posts at my other blogs:  
                                     
Take A Happy Break: Let It Go!
Veggies, Yarns & Tails: Retro (Fruit Slices) Knit Anklets
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

24 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Halcyon Days

  1. Very nice! I didn’t that is what Halcyon meant. There is a huge yarn store a ways up the coast called that. It fits with your ! adj. meaning.

  2. lovely poem for celebrating the new season

  3. Such a lovely photo and great haiku. And what an interesting word this is.

  4. Beautiful picture and rendering by words. So colorful!

  5. Hi SandyL, I didn’t know about the bird definition for this lovely word, that makes it even more special. It’s always been one of my fav words. 😉

    Hi Tammie, Thanks friend.

    Hi Joe, I agree, a very interesting word, and with so many meanings too.

    Hi Harshad, We’re both first out of the gate again (so to speak) over at OSI tonight. 😉 I’m guessing it’s the morning where you are though. Thanks for your lovely comment.

    Happy, Halcyon Week to All, G

  6. autumn will always be my favorite season. i’m always at peace during fall 🙂

  7. Fall triggers such colorful thoughts…..and many memories, for me – some happy, some not so much….your haiga is lovely….

  8. T&T celebrated the 50th anniversary of Indpendence on August 31st this year (a golden anniversary)

    have a happy Sunday

    much love…

    P.S. i keep meaning to ask and always forgetting; but today i remember; if you have copies in hand of your book Haiku Reflections would you be interested in doing a book swap, if you agree i will send you a copy of my book of haiku poems titled “Moments” you can email me about this through any of my Sunday Savvy posts at my blog Lunch Break

  9. Halycyon is a good word for the calm and still feeling of autumn, Geraldine.
    Yesterday, the first day of Autumn was a halycon day here.
    I think that is the reason I love this season.
    Brenda

  10. Hi Anthony, I totally agree.

    Hi Totomai, I think with the rising summer temps. almost everywhere, Fall is becoming a fav season for even more people. And yes, it does have such a peaceful feeling to it, I agree. Lovely comment, thanks.

    Hi Mama, Thanks so much for stopping by.

    Hi 4Joy, Always some sadness, mixed with any season, that’s true. But how much easier it is to cope with life’s difficulties when we can look and enjoy such a breath-taking season. It always helps me. I hope this Autumn brings all good things to you.

    Hi Gillena, I was aware of your country’s anniversary, that’s quite a milestone. I’m waiting for more books right now, some “glitches” with CreateSpace that are taking much longer than I expected, to rectify. I’ll be in touch Gillena. I love book swaps. 🙂

    Hi Brenda, I’m guessing Wascana Park is looking amazing right about now?

    The only scene I can remember that was even more beautiful in the Fall was Allen Gardens in Toronto. WOW, so many red, orange and yellow maple leaves, set against the black bark of the trees after the rain! I often went for a walk down there to enjoy the beauty. I lived close by. I never forgot the magic of that park in the Fall. If you Google Allen Gardens in Toronto, they did have a lovely website showcasing the park, last time I looked. I’m glad you had a halcyon day yesterday!

    Happy Week and I do look forward to visiting you all in the next few days, G 🙂

  11. ah gorgeous capture by the lake…i love autumn…the trees are just starting to change a bit here…soon enough the full pallete will show…smiles….

  12. Ahhh the perfect day.

  13. Those times are still there..onlly we have to catch up with them…thanks for the wonderful prompt.

    RS:)

  14. Oh it’s beautiful, Autumn my Saviour 🙂

  15. Hi Brian, Isn’t it just the ‘bestest’ LOL time of year. Now I’m hoping for some rain to settle 2 plus months worth of dust here. 😉 It was suppose to rain today but all I’m seeing so far is blue sky and smoke from the Washington fires out there. Oh well, what can ya do.

    Hi Lisa, Definitely a good place to enjoy one. 🙂

    Hi Ramesh, So true, we have to take the time, don’t we?

    Hi Lorraine, I feel the same way. I’m guessing Quebec is amazing for colors in the Fall, based on your photos etc…keep them coming!

    Happy Week and thanks so much for stopping by, G

  16. hello g, it’s been quite awhile since stopping by… a most enjoyable time to ponder the days to come and the days to pass… may they be as peaceful as we could possibly wish them to be…. xoxox miss pie

  17. Nothing like the calm, tranquil days of autumn to soothe colors and our mind 🙂

  18. Ger,
    Yes, Wascana is gorgeous right now, as you remember. We are pretty priviliged to have such a nice, large park in the city, and the colours are always wonderful. I think that’s one of the reasons I love the fall.
    I checked Allen Park, on Google, and it looks like a wonderful place, and a great conservatory as well.
    I think it must have been so nice to walk there.
    Thanks as well for your response re: blogging tips.
    Hugs,
    Brenda

  19. Hi Ms. Pie, It’s great to “see”you again! And thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Leo, So true!

    Hi Brenda, Yes, Wascana is a great place to walk in the Fall as is Allen Gardens. So much beauty to behold out there! 🙂 I hope the tips helped.

    Hi Dani, Thank you and welcome to MPP.

    Happy Autumn, G 🙂

  20. soothing atmosphere….!

  21. Thank you for this neat prompt, Geraldine. 🙂 I learned a new word this week.
    Your fall ‘peaceful’ fall poem was very appropriate too!

    Unfortunately I did not get to writing although I did do some schetching and preminary work.
    What with trying to finish up insurance dealings with our car accident (it was ‘totaled’)

    and our 16-year-old beagle, Adi, dying we have been really busy.
    http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/2012/09/six-word-saturday_21.html
    I did do my other blog a bit though as it didn’t require me to be in a creative mood.
    ..

Thank you for your comments!

