My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Cocoon

17 Comments

And so it begins.

The fragile cycle of life.

Fleeting.

Tentative.

Glimpsed for one brief measure.

Our history and time.

The transformations that will….

mark our place.

Name, our space.

Let it count.

Let us count.

To leave something better.

Substance, character, memories…

that remain unchanged.

Onward we venture.

Free-flying.

Unstoppable.

To complete our rise to glory.

On silken wings.          

♥♥

Also posted for the Woven Dreams prompt: Transformation

From the poetry collection: My Poetic Path

Photo courtesy of Flickr

***

PS: For some reason WordPress is not allowing me to keep the spaces for each stanza as this poem was originally written. After three attempts to remove and then re-do the formatting, I gave up. I think it reads quite well without the spaces too.

Hope you enjoy this work. 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

17 thoughts on “Cocoon

  1. Stunning, I have to leave my unhappiness, at leat I’ve left my bitterness behind, but to say I’m happy is a lie, but I love what you’re leaving behind, maybe Iwill get there one day …

  2. And i love the photo you’re so pretty and Mr. Cheddar too lol

  3. This poem perfectly captures life’s true fragility…and how we are transformed. This is beautiful, Geraldine.

  4. name your space…let it count, let us count….i really like that…nice geraldine…a wonderful transformation

  5. Hi Lorraine, Thanks Lorraine. I wish you lots of happiness to come. It’s out there, don’t give up. We have to seize the day, make the most of every day and try to leave the things and people that upset us, behind. We can soar in this world too my dear. 🙂

    Hi Talon, Thanks so much Talon. Life is a gift and a fragile one at that, I agree.

    Hi Brian, Thanks so much Brian. This is one of my personal favs. It always lifts my spirits, even on less than great days.

    Happy Weekend and Hope to See You at Woven Dreams for this prompt too, starting tomorrow, G

  6. Thats really beautiful.
    Maggie x

    Nuts in May

  7. Beautiful….

    Jen

  8. Wow, this is beautiful. This really says it all.

  9. Fabulous. Love thinking about these transformations this time of year.

  10. This is just wonderful Geraldine. So beautiful and meaningful.

  11. Hi Maggie, So nice to see you here and thank you!

    Hi Jen, Thanks Jen, so glad you liked it.

    Hi Joe, I tried to come “full circle” with my words, thanks Joe.

    Hi Lisa, I do too, in all their forms.

    Hi Teri, Thanks so much for your kind words Teri.

    Hope you all have a wonderful week, G 🙂

  12. Your poem talks about life’s fragility and yet its message is uplifting. I keep reading it… to see how you achieve that wonderful rhythm… Beautiful! xoxoxo

  13. Your poem is beautiful. I would like to know if the word prompt ‘transformation’ is for a post to do for this week posted on last Sunday, or is it to be used for a post for next Sunday? Do you allow the whole week to post with a prompt? Thank you for replying. I wrote a poem with the prompt to use for it, but wasn’t sure when to post it. I am over here at: http://jemj47.wordpress.com

  14. Hi Sue, Thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Vesper, Oh what a lovely compliment, thanks friend. You made my day.

    Hi Joyce, Transformation is this week’s prompt at Woven Dreams, you can stop in and add your link to the prompt post at top of the page: http://www.wovendreamsprompts.wordpress.com I’m looking forward to seeing what you wrote for this wonderful word prompt!

    Happy Week, G

  15. Beautiful words for our journey.

  16. beautiful poem; your photo complements well

    much love…

Thank you for your comments!

