My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Sweet Dreams

12 Comments

staircase
                                   
In my dream, there is a staircase.
Leading up to the sun and warming rays.
There is an answer waiting there.
At the top of the stairs.
But it has not been reached.
Still to be revealed.
It will remain.
 
A sweet and soothing dream.
Awakening to peace and renewal.
There is hope to be found.
Gazing towards the light.
Hope that sustains on even the darkest days.
And weaves through the longest of nights.
 
In dreams we travel across time and space.
We draw near to those loved ones already passed.
They are there, always waiting.
Interacting with us in the ways still allowed to them.
And wonders to us, in turn.
Sometimes bringing them closer than even those left behind.
If only we remain open to their voices.
Fragile and fleeting, yet clear.
 
Sweet dreams.
Keep me moving towards the light.
Still my overworked heart.
Calm my mind from the pressures that overwhelm.
These too shall pass.
And again, I will journey forward.
Safely on my way.
The path, meant to be.
Not those of life’s detours.
Or roads best left behind.
                                 
***
From the poetry book/collection: My Poetic Path
Also posted for the Woven Dreams prompt: Dreams
Photo courtesy of Caroline Brown
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

12 thoughts on “Sweet Dreams

  1. I’ve been feeling Dad guiding me with a gentle hand; this poem evokes this feeling of never really being separated…and that is a lovely thought. Hugs! 🙂

  2. Lovely poem. So peaceful and so true.

  3. Magnificent….I love this G.

  4. Thank you, your poem was appropriate for me at this time.

  5. Hi Ruinwen, How lovely to see a comment from you today, my friend. I’m glad this poem brought good thoughts of your dad to mind. He is with you, always.

    Hi Joe, I feel peaceful reading this one too, thank you!

    Hi Lorraine, Ahhh…you’re so nice!

    Hi Valerie, I’m so glad, thanks for stopping by.

    Hope to see some of you at Woven Dreams this Sunday, for the prompt Dreams. I had so many ideas how to interpret this one!

    Happy Weekend, G

  6. Wonderfully written — gentle, and renewable of hope and inspiration!

  7. I loved this poem in your book and I love it here!

  8. This is a beautiful poem and so full of hope and conviction.

  9. Hi Becca, Thanks for the lovely comment!

    Hi Teri, That’s great to hear, thanks Teri.

    Hi Rae, Nice to see you again and thanks so much. I enjoyed browsing at your blog today too.

    Happy Week, G

  10. and of course clicked yours! I like I wish it was I love….more appropriate oh and linking to your Review this summer garage sales I’ll try again the Alphabet mysteries, who knows…..

  11. Inspirational and lovely!

  12. Ah, those dreams keep us going. lovely words.

Thank you for your comments!

