My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

More Quiet Heroes

6 Comments

Last week’s prompt at Woven Dreams was Quiet Heroes. 

On Monday, April 15th, the lives of people in Boston were changed forever, due to the senseless and brutal bombing at the Boston Marathon.

During the entire week, I (like so many other people) was riveted to the events unfolding in the Boston area. Yes, there were images and words hard to look at, to take in….the evil that permeated that violence is hard to believe. I read, I watched, I cried…

At the same time, there was so much goodness to witness, so many, many people who went over and above any “duty” or obligation to help. People who ran from the marathon directly to area hospitals to give blood, people who opened their homes to strangers in need, civilians who helped people at the scene not concerned with their own safety. And the first responders, the EMT workers, the police…the list goes on and on.

In a world seemingly gone mad at times, goodness will always prevail. We can’t let evil win, in all the ways that it can affect us, even from a very long distance. And so often that goodness wins,  due to the heroic and selfless actions of the Quiet Heroes.

My heart goes out to every single person affected by the events in Boston and to all those quiet heroes who restored my faith in goodness, bravery and humanity, once again.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

6 thoughts on “More Quiet Heroes

  1. Geraldine, what you write is so true…like so much of life, there is good and there is bad and sometimes it seems the bad has the monopoly until you see what good comes out of the bad. And that is always heart-lifting.

    Your header shot is stunning!!

  2. Yes, indeed there is more good than evil in the world and thank goodness for that. The trouble is we hear more about the evil-doers because that is news and news makes money. Sometimes I wish we could hear more about the good guys. Our hearts went out to those injured people and to the families of those killed in the Boston bombings.

  3. we need to keep hope that goodness will prevail…its hard at times when there is so much darkness in the world…and in the midst of tragedy but….

    hey there.

    smiles.

  4. My heart goes out to everyone effected by this tragedy. I am always moved by the “silent heroes” who help out in horrible tragedies like this. I think the news is slanted for ratings; but if more stories ran about simple people doing extraordinary things it would be so much more empowering. The news is usually so depressing that I don’t watch anymore. I get everything through headlines on the web.
    Hugs!

  5. Very good post and so true. Goodness will always prevail even if it seems at times that evil is winning. There is good people everywhere, we can’t forget that.

  6. Hi Talon, Goodness always comes along with the bad. It’s just too bad that the BAD part has to happen at all, and so often. Even in Canada we’ve had our share of close calls and tragedies like this. I’m glad the RCMP were able to avert that terrorist train plot this week. How horrible that would have been. 😦

    Hi Val, I don’t think the news network give enough time to the happy, positive stories. People need that, more and more. I don’t know how anyone listens to the news before going to bed these days. If I did, I’d never sleep.

    Hi Brian, And we have to keep fighting back that darkness don’t we? If we don’t, they win. Even in small ways, I think every one can do their part to spread goodness and hope, even things as seemingly small as sharing a smile or a hug. And you know how I like to hug. 😉

    Hi Ruinwen, Again, I don’t think the news networks realise just how much people enjoy good news stories. They should try it for a change, focus on the happy stories, the heroes…and see what happens. I bet their ratings would go waaaay up. 🙂

    Hi Joe, We can never forget that, I agree.

    Hugs to all, G

Thank you for your comments!

