My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

When In Doubt….


love hearts

When life is hard. 

To resolve. 

To stand firm. 

In our convictions and our decisions. 

Becomes a daunting task . 


When life is easy. 

The confidence flows. 

Our minds are clear. 

No negative, nagging doubts to hold us back. 

Resolve comes smoothly and without;

the draining , regretful glance of the past.



Without them. 

Nothing moves. 

Stagnation forms a thick, suffocating film. 

Shrouding us in darkness. 

Watching in despair as; 

the Good Life happens to someone else.


To find balance. 

That happy medium of: 

Caution not fear. 

Patience not immobility. 

Always to strive for. 

Always to search for. 

A precious and significant reward. 

Worthy of the journey. 

The casting aside of our fears.



The promise of… 

cutting through delays . 

No more wasted days. 

Drawing our line in the sand. 

Savoring each experience. 

A leap of faith.




Not,maybe so.


To resolve: 







my decisions. 


Also created for the August 18th Woven Dreams prompt:


This is a poem from my 2008 archives which I revised a bit for today’s post.

I thought it was worthy of an encore.

It rang true for me, again today. Hope it does for you too. :)

Photo courtesy of Flickr










Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

12 thoughts on “When In Doubt….

  1. I loved this, Geraldine. One day at a time…one decision the same way. Yes, we have to own the decisions we make.

  2. I too loved this, my gosh I have to find what i prepared for doubts…don’t know if the photo will show up, it better we’ll but this oh man, it’s fabulous

  3. Oh my, I loved this. *Clapping* … it definitely warrants an encore. In fact, it’s the sort of writing I can imagine framed and hung on a wall as a permanent reminder. You’re a star, Geraldine.

  4. Excellent poem. we all have doubts but we have to rise above them and make decisions. So true.

  5. living with our decisions…there is a hard lesson and important truth in that….our decisions determine where we get in life….taking responsibility for them, we do so of our life as well…

  6. Hi Talon, I agree, we do need to own our decisions. And feel good that we are able to make them.

    Hi Lorraine, Thanks for your kind words. Your photos always show up, not problem! ;)

    Hi Valerie, You made my day Val, thanks so much. What a nice comment

    Hi Joe, If we don’t rise about the doubts, we would never make any decisions, would we?

    Hi Brian, So true Brian, so true.

    Happy Weekend, G

  7. I like the last stanza :)

  8. Such beautiful eloquent words of the way to live.

  9. I love this poem. I agree with Teri – beautiful and eloquent words. They speak to the heart about things we all can relate to. :-D

  10. Faaaaaabulous poem, Geraldine!

    Without them.
    Nothing moves.

    So TRUE! And I think that’s why we often hesitate in making them – fear of change.

    But I have found that life changes regardless, therefore, if don’t make a decision, a decision will be made for me anyway.

    Again, FAB poem!

  11. This is a lovely mantra for everyday, Geraldine. You and I must have been on the same thinking page, because my post from yesterday is a little similar, Living in the here and now, one day at a time..if you have time, I invite you to check it out. Have a wonderful day, my friend…

  12. Hi Irene, Thanks and glad you could join us at WD this week too!

    Hi Teri, Thanks so much Teri. :)

    Hi Ron, Life DOES change, regardless of what we do or want, I agree. Thanks for your lovely comment! :)

    Hi Lauren, We were indeed on the same wavelength. Loved your post and such good advice. And so glad we’ve reconnected via the blogs recently. I’ve missed you.

    Happy Week, G

Thank you for your comments!

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 331 other followers