My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Autumn Leaves: A Tau-Ku Poem

9 Comments

autumn leaves tau ku

You can read more about the Tau-Ku poetry form here.

Have a Wonderful Tuesday! 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

9 thoughts on “The Autumn Leaves: A Tau-Ku Poem

  1. I love walking in autumn when it’s crisp and cool but not quite cold. I can picture those leaves–we’ll be getting them soon! Nice capture Geraldine 🙂

  2. After a crazy cold snap, it’s over a 100 degrees here today. I do so look forward to the crunch of leaves underfoot and that particularly fine scent of autumn. Lovely, Geraldine!

  3. Another awesome Haiku, Geraldine. Along with an awesome photo capture!

    You know, it was REALLY feeling like fall last week, but suddenly we’ve been hit with heat and humidity again today 😦

    That’s okay though, because very soon it will be our favorite season……FALL!!!!!!!

    Hope you’re having a lovely week!
    X

  4. Your photo is so beautiful and I love the tau-ku poem too. Just perfect.

  5. It won’t be long before we too see pretty autumn leaves, those leaves that come alive as they die. It’s a miraculous time of year.

  6. Wonderful poem, Geraldine! I like the pause brought by “I walk” – I keep reading this tau-ku just for the way it sounds… 🙂
    The photo is gorgeous!
    xoxoxo

  7. Hi Poet Laundry, Love your blog name btw. 🙂 As you may have guessed, this is a file photo. Not that much color here in BC yet. It’s really warm actually.

    Hi Kim, Ontario really has had quite the summer for weather, even weirder than the rest of the country it seems. Let’s hope it settles into a nice, long autumn soon, for all of us. 🙂

    Hi Ron, This is actually a Tau-Ku poem, not haiku. The syllable counts are different for each form, tau-ku: 6/2/8 and haiku 5/7/5 but I do thank you for your lovely compliment. And yes, our fav season IS almost here.

    Hi Joe, Thank you! I kind of like this one too. 🙂 I love the shadows on the leaves and the sun.

    Hi Val, It is a miraculous time of year, I agree. I love all the seasons, but fall is definitely my fav.

    Hi Vesper, That 2 syllable “break” in tau ku is a bit of challenge but I like it. Thanks so much for your lovely comment.

    Happy Week, G

  8. so enjoying your tau- kus. look forward to seeing more. hope all is well.

  9. decent lyric short.

    I don’t understand how tau is pi x 2. tau is head in Chinese or in physics an unstable lepton with a mass approximately 3500 times that of the electron.

Thank you for your comments!

