My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The Bells

19 Comments

bells

The bells are ringing. 

Calling flocks of believers.

Summoning those resolute. 

Determined for a cause. 

Glorious peals and tolls of doom. 

Messengers and harbingers. 

Remainders and reminders of centuries past.

  

Bride, radiant and glowing. 

A vision in white. 

Easter lilies and crimson red roses. 

Fragrant cascade and fervent hopes. 

Awaiting the first chimes to call her beloved. 

Then jubilant, triumphant peals. 

As they walk together, hand in hand. 

While mourning doves soar in flight.

Glorious melodious morning. 

A moment in time. 

Burnished in their hearts.

Sealed in golden time. 

Forever.

  

A young soldier. 

Lies in bed as another night closes in. 

Listening to his heart. 

Frightened. 

But from depths unknown. 

Eager and ready. 

Stalwart; he awaits his call. 

That same sad toll his mother dreads. 

Off to battle. 

Perhaps never to return. 

Now, there is no escaping. 

As the bell drones on….

 

The Angelus.

Noon-time brings blessed chimes.

A brief pause to reflect and renew. 

Soothing, serene sound. 

Now the traffic of life swallows up and silences, 

this sweet refrain.

No longer time to stop. 

To be still and silent. 

For little more than the few moments gained. 

As we scurry through, yet another day.

  

The bells of December. 

Bell-ringers, resplendent in their festive garb. 

Call on the angels. 

With strains of the Halleluiah Chorus. 

And bring a special magic to the season. 

Outside; the snow continues to fall. 

Frosting the emerald trees. 

Painting a scene of wonder and light. 

 

Bells… 

small and large. 

Gold, bronze and silver. 

Smooth metal, shimmering in white towers. 

Sometimes, blackened and cracked.

May they remain. 

A special part of our future. 

And for all those to come. 

Not resigned to the fading, forgotten past.

*** 

 

PS: In the small BC city where I live, we rarely hear bells of any kind. 😦

But this past week, I did hear some church bells ringing and it was lovely. Maybe a wedding! 🙂

Also sharing with Poets United

***

“The Bells” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

from the poetry collection: My Poetic Path 

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

19 thoughts on “The Bells

  1. I like to listen to the bells of a Church. Many reasons to ring the bells. I like the many stories in the poem. In the small towns. Those old bells are appreciated sounds. Thank you for sharing the amazing poetry.

  2. Very beautiful poem, Geraldine, with lovely imagery. Have a peaceful Sunday. xx

  3. Geraldine, what a BEAUTIFUL poem! And the photo you took of the bells is BEYOND faaaaaaabulous! It’s stunning!

    ” I did hear some church bells ringing and it was lovely. ”

    I agree! I live close to our City Hall here in Philadelphia and it has a large clock on its tower. My favorite thing is to hear it ring/chime every hour on the hour. It has a very deep and resonating tone to it. Just LOVELY. Reminds me of Europe.

    Happy Sunday, my friend!

    X

  4. wow. powerful verse…the bells have so many meanings…the bit on the soldier following on the heals of the bride got me…
    used to hear the bells more in my home town….

  5. This sent me down memory lane..and made me aware there are no bells anymore where I live… what a shame…

  6. We have two bell towers close by so no excuses on not knowing what time it is. This was heartfelt and beautiful, Geraldine.

    Happy Thanksgiving! Hope it’s beautiful and blessed.

  7. A lovely and thoughtful exploration of bell sounds! Bells are a familiar sound we grow up with and hearing them often evokes all sorts of memories.

  8. Hi John, I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem. 🙂

    Hi Lauren, Thanks friend. Your new avatar photo is gorgeous btw.

    Hi Ron, Thanks so much, what lovely comments you leave for me. 🙂

    I’m sure in Europe the sound of bells is a lot more prevalent than here in Canada.

    I miss all the bells. 😦 Something magical about them, always.

    Hi Brian, I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem Brian. It’s one of personal favs actually. 😉

    Hi TransCanada, It is a shame, I agree. 😦 Hope you have a great Thanksgiving.

    Hi Kim, I hope your Thanksgiving is beautiful and blessed too. 🙂

    Hi Gabriella, They really do, don’t they? Thanks for your kind words.

    Happy weekend and Happy Thanksgiving to Canadian readers too, G

  9. Beautiful words, and verses. Hope you hear those bells again, and again. I love the sounds of bells ringing, and surprisingly, even the sounds of train whistles. 🙂 Not many people will admit to enjoying train whistles, but I love them and can literally go to sleep at the sound and clanging of trains on their tracks, not far from us. 🙂

  10. I loved it. In my small town I do hear church bells once in a while. When I studied in Germany for a year, I was surprised to hear church bells ringing right through the night on every hour and half-hour. I’m sure that would have annoyed and angered many Americans but I took some comfort on many a sleepless night to hear the ancient bells mark the time.

  11. Geraldine, first of all, welcome to Poets United. So very nice to see you here; and hope that your visit will be the first of many.

    I did enjoy very much your reflections on bells. They symbolize or herald so many events in our lives, don’t they? From the joys of the marriage, to the Christmas bells in December, and more. I like the way you wrote about different kinds of bells in each stanza. Very inspired indeed.

  12. I’ve never really given bells that much thought but I love how you convey them as a part of so many aspects of life. beautifully written.

  13. Such a beautiful poem. You’ve captured so many times in life where bells play a role, with their ringing. Some happy, some sad.

  14. This is so beautiful Geraldine!! The different meaning the bells convey for different people….so aptly put!

  15. I love bells – I have wind chimes that sound exactly like church bells and I so love hearing them chiming in the afternoon breeze……….love the picture you painted of the wedding couple!

  16. p.s. am wondering what town you live in……

  17. People often speak of the potency of taste/smell in regard to memory… I think sound is also quite powerful as you’ve expressed so beautifully in your poem Geraldine.

  18. Hi Joyce, I love train whistles too. 🙂 Unless it’s 3 in the morning and they are VERY LOUD. 😦
    Hi Nissa, Based on your comments and Ron’s, there must be a lot more bell ringing happening in Europe. That’s so nice. 🙂 I think there is something magical and unique about all kinds of bells and chimes. I love wind chimes too. 😉

    Hi Mary, I just started participating at Poets United a couple of weeks ago and I’m glad I did. 🙂 Seems like a supportive group of talented people who are stopping by there. Thanks for your kind words re: my work too. I’ll be back at Poets United in the near future and often.

    Hi Kathyrn, Welcome to MPP and thanks for your lovely comment. 🙂

    Hi Joseph, Bells ringing can convey so many things. I tried. 😉

    Hi Aditi, Thanks so much!

    Hi Sherry, So nice to see you again and thank you! 🙂

    Hi Laura, I can’t take credit for the photo but I love it. And yes, sound and music…can be very powerful. I’ve been known to cry listening to really beautiful music. Sometimes it touches the soul deeply.

    Happy Week to Everyone and thanks so much for stopping by, G

Thank you for your comments!

