My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Wait for Me

26 Comments

Scanning the early morning light.
She slowly climbs the stone stairs.
As another day dawns.
Pale grey horizon.
Sea spray fills the air.
Salt: bitter taste on her parched lips.
Mingles with a wayward tear.
                           
Turbulent, ominous sea.
In control and in command.
To take away
and
hopefully
to
Return.
 
“Wait for me”
His last words.
Eyes so blue, kind and sure.
But even then….
sharing their last embrace.
She sensed the darkness.
Drawing near.
 
Now she stands and stares.
Flaxen hair,
strays wildly from her crimson cloak.
Hands cold with fear.
Clutching the rails of the Widow’s Walk.
Breath comes hard.
Fighting her greatest fear.
                                        
Memories.
Holding his love close.
Wrapped in the veins of her heart.
Sensing him.
Wanting him.
Her one and only.
Precious and dear.
 
“Wait for me”
She whispers in reply.
 Trembling in the cold, biting wind.
Powerful needs of body and soul.
Dreams so fragile.
If only to glimpse his ship.
“Please God, oh please…”
…soon to be here?
 
Out on the ocean.
Dark and deep.
Furious, mighty waves.
The elements.
Sailors of the deep, calling.
These enemies surround him.
                            
He stands alone.
Stalwart, tall and brave.
Eyes facing.
Heart racing.
Homesick.
Homeward bound.
                    
Drawn…
clinging to comforts.
Seeing her warm, welcoming smile.
Fragrance of lilies, fading.
Sighs and sorrow.
As another day returns to the night.
 
“Wait for me”
He shouts in vain;
 to the rain-drenched, thundering skies.
My everlasting promise:
to return to you.
Once again.
              
Love.
Will remain.
            Love.            
Will sustain.
              
“Wait for me”
 
***

 “Wait for Me” © 2008 Geraldine Helen Hartman

from the poetry book: My Poetic Path

***

Sharing with this Sunday’s Poetry Pantry at Poets United. 

A favorite poem of mine from the archives. Hope you enjoy it too.

***

PS: Many years ago, I walked these same stairs, to the Widow’s Walk of this much-visited castle; while living in Victoria.

Even now, I remember the feeling of being there and standing in the presence of those passed on. Spirits so real, perhaps still waiting.

***

Link to the original post with reader’s comments

Photo taken at Craigdarroch Castle, Victoria, British Columbia courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

26 thoughts on “Wait for Me

  1. Very beautiful and poignant, Geraldine. Funny, while I was in Destin last week, I was explaining to my daughter what a Widow’s Walk was. I hadn’t thought about that in years. I’m looking forward to reading this book.

  2. Geraldine, this was breathtaking!

    I could actually feel the powerful tie between the two within your words.

    Beautifully written, my friend. And the photo you chose for this post was perfect!

    Well done!

    Have a super Saturday!
    X

  3. Lovely. Widows walks on homes overlooking oceans were paced by so many women waiting for their beloved to return.

  4. This is a wonderful poem. Sad but touching words.

  5. Gorgeous, Geraldine. And the photo is brilliant. There are lots of places here (along the great lakes) with the widow walks…I can’t imagine the pain they suffered when their men didn’t return from sea.

  6. Hi Marcia, Glad you enjoyed this poem. There was something so magical and yet so sad, walking along that Widow’s Walk. I remember it well.

    Hi Ron, Ahhh…you’re so nice, thanks Ron. 🙂 Your comments always make me smile. 🙂

    Hi Rose, They certainly were. And too often, they never did. 😦

    Hi Spirit, Thanks so much.

    Hi Joe, It is sad but hopeful too, I think.

    Hi Kim. Thanks Kim. Waiting for a loved one to return home safely is something most of us can relate to. But it’s not often from such a dangerous place as the sea can be. Especially in days gone by, before all the modern technology on the ships, as there is today.

    Have a wonderful weekend, G 🙂

  7. waiting and longing seen here

  8. …very beautiful & filled with emotions widely expressed to reach my very skin of being… i have enjoyed going through each word & lines & spaces & can’t resist to read it again & again… very appealing to heart… smiles…

  9. This is so desperately melancholy. I love how the poem is a story with an unpredictable ending. This poem really touched me, I almost shed a tear… It’s truly lovely and very sad.

  10. Oh G. this is fabulous, moody, sea-worthy true love and stormy days and night, will he return, maybe in months, but you’ll always wait…WOW

  11. I felt the presences while reading–the one who left, the one who walks, the ocean, the dead, the barely alive. Along with those images and presences, I thrilled (yes, actually) at the way the meaning of “Wait for me” changed. As if I was acting every part in a moment happening now and never ending. Beautiful writing.

  12. A very atmospheric poem Geraldine! We can feel the ominous outcome that awaits this ‘widow’.

  13. beautiful. love the repetition of wait for me.. and all the love. love.

  14. I could really feel the mood of this poem. Almost mystical, soothing, a bit ominous in tone. The words ‘Wait for me” are sad, but hopeful. This IS a beautifully penned poem. (Loved the photo! Love BC!!!)

  15. love will remain….what a story you wrote in your verse…of a love so strong…their parallel call to return to one another…
    and even if death awaits, love can draw them together again…smiles.

  16. Wait for me. Wonderful words of longing. Thank you.
    Anna :o]

  17. Hi Vandana, Yes they are.

    Hi Kelvin, What a lovely comment, thanks so much. I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem.

    Hi Pensive, Sad but I hope that the hopefulness comes through as well. They are determined to see each other again. They will not give up on that hope, in spite of the odds and the danger.

    Hi Lorraine, Thanks my friend.

    Hi Susan, Yes, the men of the deep, those passed on…they are part of this as much as the two lovers. Thanks so much for your kind words.

    Hi Gabriella, I love creating an atmosphere in a poem, in any creative written work actually. thanks so much.

    Hi Natasa, Thank you!

    Hi Mary, This is one of my personal favs. We all have them, don’t we? So glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Brian, Love is so strong, so resilient…IMO, love never dies and goes beyond this earth. We are tied to loved ones, on both sides.

    Happy Week to All and thanks so much for stopping by, G

  18. The repetition “wait for me” is both beautiful & haunting. Such a yearning and the hope that love will keep them together. Castles are so fascinating and full of history and stories. Funny, I wrote about a castle just last week. Well done 🙂

  19. Geraldine this is exquisitely poignant.

    Please consider yourself officially invited to participate this year’s 5th Annual Gratitude (word) Quilt. Instructions and a link that explains the origins of the word quilt (it is very simple) can be found at the top of my blog. In past years there have been participants from every continent except for Antarctica. I hope you’ll join us:-)

  20. Beautiful write! There is such a poignant story in this–

  21. Geraldine–love this–a poetic story, so full of emotion and texture/senses! So excited about your cooking–I’m vegetarian too. Love new recipes 🙂

  22. heart-wrenching! I could almost hear the waves coming in, beating a rhythm of time – anticipation and sorrow.

  23. Hi Loredana, Thank you for your lovely comment. I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem.

    Hi Laura, Your “quilt” sounds like a grand idea. I will try to get my contribution sent to you, this week. I’m looking forward to participating.

    Hi Audrey, Thanks so much.

    Hi SaraV, Welcome to MPP and thanks so much for your kind words. And how great to meet another vegetarian too. Hope you enjoy some of my recipes soon, including my new ebook: The Groovy Green Kitchen (on sidebar). 😉

    Hi Nan, I’m so glad this poem touched you. And welcome to MPP.

    Hugs and Happy Week to Everyone. G

  24. Ah, that widow’s walk always seems to draw the poet. Love the detail and the imagery throughout. Can see why this would be a favorite…

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/11/03/winds-of-rebellion/

  25. Sad yet so beautiful… So powerful! Loved the flow and esp the repetition ‘wait for me’…

Thank you for your comments!

