My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Warped Beauty

10 Comments

warped beauty

I took a day off from the computer yesterday and was out and about.

Noted several “warped beauties” along the way, similar to the photo above.

It seems that every year, the transition from summer to seasonal fall temperatures, becomes longer.

In Canada where we do still have four distinct seasons, it’s not a good thing to see flowers lingering well into the late fall. 😦

What is the weather doing where you are?

Are you noting signs of the effects of  global warming in the plants and flowers around your area?

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

10 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Warped Beauty

  1. Geraldine, what a beeeeeeeautiful photo and haiku! The color of those flowers is stunning!

    We’ve had a very strange spring into fall transition this year, here in PA. One day it’s warm and humid, the next it’s cold and windy. We’ve had hardly any color change in the leaves. And yes, the flowers are lingering here has well.

    Have a fabulous week!
    X

  2. This haiku really describes the weather here and the effects of global warming. It might be pretty but it’s not a good thing. Great haiku and photo.

  3. oh that change will come…but that it lingers…makes me smile…one last gasp before freezing…

  4. I love summer’s remainders in the garden. The hard frosts of the last two nights finished ours off completely. Hope you’re having a lovely week, Geraldine.

  5. exactly, same here I see flowers that shouldn’t be. Summer last longer, Fall is barely cold, winters are warmer and, well I love this it’s beautiful, but I worry now about global warning, seriously the seasons are not changing at the rythm(?) it used to…worries me

  6. Hi Ron, Thanks for your kind words. And for the lovely post about your mom yesterday too. I had a little cry reading it, touched my heart.

    Hi Joe, I couldn’t agree more. It’s not what we should be seeing, this time of year, in Canada especially. 😦

    Hi Brian, It’s just starting to cool down here now. How’s the weather in the East? I’m guessing you are enjoying some amazing colors right now.

    Hi Kim, Can’t say that I do, for the reasons I wrote about, above. Pretty, but there’s a price to be paid for that overly warm weather too. 😦

    Hi Lorraine, It worries me too Lorraine. But I try to focus on what I CAN do to be part of the solution, like our choice to sell our cars when we moved here, reducing, recycling…it all adds up, if millions of people get on board. 🙂

    Happy Wednesday, G 🙂

  7. so lovely to see flowers
    ours are long gone
    amazing that we have snow and you do not
    i often think that we have similar weather
    it is snowing at the moment, but not like yesterdays 3 + inches

    lovely autumn into winter to you~

  8. Warm and raining here in Maine. The flowers, and most of the bright leaves are gone.

  9. Here in Montreal winter is showing its nose. I just emptied my flower boxes and put away my summer furniture. So, now I buy bouquet of flowers from the florist to keep inside. But even those fade as a reminder that nothing lasts forever and to enjoy what is before us now.

  10. Hi Tammie, I love flowers too, but not when they linger into the late fall. 😦 There was snow in the area at the higher elevations, but not where we live. We never get much snow “down here” in the downtown area. 😉 A lovely autumn and winter to you too.

    Hi Sandy, How nice to see you blogging again.

    Hi Carol, Welcome to MPP! Yes, we should always celebrate the beauty in life at the time. It can be gone before we know it. Be here now, still great advice. 😉

    Happy weekend to all, G

Thank you for your comments!

