My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Your (Cover) Opinion Please! :<)

30 Comments

haiku reflections II cover 2

RED PETUNIA

haiku reflections II cover 3

DAISIES

haiku reflections II cover 4

“MUMS”

haiku reflections II cover 5

PINK ROSE

haiku reflections II cover 6

OAK LEAF

haiku reflections II cover 7

YELLOW WILD ROSE

***

I am working on the second volume of Haiku Reflections right now. 

I like the cover color (spring green) but I can’t decide on which photo to use.

Your opinion would be most appreciated. Which one do you like best?

Please disregard text color and cropping.

This is from a screenshot I took off CreateSpace and cropped with MS Paint, so not exactly as it will look in the end.

Thanks so much! 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

30 thoughts on “Your (Cover) Opinion Please! :<)

  1. I’m partial to daisies, but I love the leaf, Geraldine. Actually, they are all beautiful!

  2. They are all beautiful, for sure. To me, I think it might be good to steer away from the pink petunia, because the color is similar to what you used for the first volume. The daisies are so crisp and clean and fresh looking, I think they would be my first choice. Strictly a gut reaction when scrolling through them, though. They would all work well. Can’t wait to see what you choose.

  3. I like the oak leaf but I would put the title in the center of the leaf but probably with a darker or lighter background as it’s already too much green.

    my second choice would be the daisies, but again, I don’t really like the placement of the title but you probably like to keep there to match the first book?

    I think my being a graphic designer makes me have too many opinions on this but it’s really up to you. I would say if I am designing the cover, my opinion would still be to have a completely new look from the first book.

    hope you have a sweet day.

  4. Love the pink rose and the oak leaf. They are the best shots. Do you do your own photos or buy? If buying, I do photography (lots on my blog) and recently did Japanese Garden shots. You would love them!!!! I am very reasonable for use of a photo. What do you pay if you purchase?

  5. They would all make beautiful covers for a book. I especially love the last one with the yellow rose. The two-tone color shades of the green leaf cover is also very pretty and the dainty little yellow mum like flowers. They’re all pretty. 🙂

  6. Hi Kim, Those are probably my two favs at this point too. 😉 It’s hard to decide. Might even be something else I haven’t tried yet LOL. Thanks for your kind words and feedback.

    Hi Marcia, Yes, good point about the red petunia. I want the covers to look similar but different too. I now plan to do four Haiku Reflections books, each with a seasonal theme for the cover too. This one will be either spring or summer. Thanks for your feedback and kind words too!

    Hi Lissa, The text color is still not set but the placement of it, I can’t change. I do want the books to look similar. I think that’s a good idea for a series of any kind. I appreciate your feedback though.

    Hi Rose, These are my photos Rose. I have a lot of flower photos to choose from. For this one, I want something quite simple, not too complicated or “busy” looking; the cover photo window is not all that big. That’s why I think I’ll stick with a single flower or leaf probably. But thanks for your offer. You have some lovely photos at your blog.

    Happy Wednesday, G

  7. PS: To Joyce, your comment ‘snuck in’ while I was typing mine. 😉

    I have a special affinity for the “mums” as they were my dear grandma’s fav flower. But as I said above, it’s hard to pick!

    Thanks for your feedback Joyce. 🙂

  8. Geraldine: They are all beautiful! Leaf might be my favorite. Not really sure. Not the most helpful comment when trying to make a choice, but just wanted to cheer you on…great pictures, love the simple beauty…beauty in its truest form. Wishing you well! Stacy

  9. I like the Daisies. Your book title includes the word “reflections” and the fact that there are two daisies of similar size suggests a reflection. Hope this helps.

  10. Please don’t take this to heart. This is only my lowly opinion. The flowers leave me thinking of Get Well cards. The leaf is my favourite from first scroll. Another vote for the leaf. 🙂

  11. Hi Stacy, “Beauty in it’s truest form” I like that. Probably why I love haiku poetry so much too. The simplicity of it while still saying so much. Thanks for your feedback too.

    Hi Michael, Oh, what an interesting observation Michael, I hadn’t thought of that. Thank you, it does help!

    Hi Tess, Your comment made me smile! Of course I want to hear what you REALLY think. Yes, the oak leaf is a popular choice so far, I agree. Thanks so much!

    Happy Wednesday and keep them coming! G

  12. I adore the daisy one first and then the leaf one! 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  13. They are all beautiful…..but you KNOW which one I pick 😉
    Pick which one matches most with the content.

  14. Love the daisies and the oak leave too!

  15. Love them ALL, Geraldine, because they each have such a unique and special feel to them.

    However, I’m very drawn to the oak leave. I LOVE green!

  16. It’s so hard to pick, they are all pretty. I would go with either the daisies or the yellow rose. I like the green cover color a lot. Good choice too.

    **THIS IS ACTUALLY A COMMENT FROM JOE. **

    WP FOR SOME REASON WILL NOT LET HIM SIGN IN WITH HIS (VALID!!) EMAIL ADDRESS.
    IS ANY ONE ELSE HAVING THIS ISSUE? IT’S NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.

    MAYBE SOMETHING TO DO WITH WORDPRESS PARTNERING WITH GOOGLE PLUS RECENTLY? 😦

  17. I like the Oak Leaf because it is simple and elegant, like haiku.

  18. I LOVE daisies but also the roses (pink and yellow) hard to chose, what does your heart tell you….

  19. Google how I hate them they say google is the new firefox. they’re nothing but trouble

  20. They’re all brilliant, but the one that strikes me the most is the pink rose. I like the delicacy and poeticness of the flower.

  21. Hi Wendy, Thanks for your suggestions!

    Hi Teri, I was wondering if you’d stop by for this one and yes, I KNOW which one you’ve picked. Daisies, am I right. 😉

    Hi Flora, Thanks for your feedback Flora, appreciate you stopping by while you’re on a blog break.

    Hi Ron, Yes, green is my fav color too, all shades. The color of life. I’m very drawn to it too.

    Hi Joe, Yes, I was lucky to get a cover color that was exactly what I had in mind. Thanks for your suggestions.

    Hi Patti, Another vote for the daisies!

    Hi Julianna, It is simple and elegant, I agree. Thank you.

    Hi Lorraine, What is it about daisies that so many people love? For me, they always look like smiles. Such happy looking flowers. 😉 Thanks Lorraine.

    Hi Val, Oh, interesting. I love roses, all colors and kinds. And yes, there is a delicacy to roses that is hard to beat, I agree.

    Thanks so much for your suggestions and feedback about this cover, most appreciated. Keep them coming! G

  22. That is a hard decision to make, you have some great choices. For me, it’s the green leaves, if your poems are supposed to be tranquil, and calming…let us know what you decide.

    Jen

  23. I like the oak leaf, its greenness and not too common as a cover. The daisies will be my second choice.

  24. I like them all but particularly like the pink flower and the leaf.

  25. Hi Jen, My book is almost complete woo hoo and the cover “reveal” will be posted soon. Thanks for your vote!

    Hi Edgar, Thanks Edgar, I appreciate your thoughts on this!

    Hi Jayne, Thanks so much Jayne, nice to see you again too.

    Happy Weekend to All, G

  26. Myself, I like the way the pink Rose fills up the frame, and the word haiku really stands out sharply which I think should. I can see I am in the minority here. I like the opening of a flower > opening of the mind idea that it intuitively communicates. I know everyone seems to like a more muted approach; the Daisy is very suitable also. Good luck with the book!

  27. Nice work! I like the pink rose and red petunia, all of the pictures are gorgeous though. On the boarder around the picture I wouldn’t include the solid black square as there is already the light green one with softer edges that match the soft edge of the picture. Having both seems too busy. Best of luck with your book!

  28. Oh dear this won’t be helpful. I love the winter scene at the top of your blog!

  29. Hi Philip, Welcome to MPP. I went with the daisies as you may have noted, now that Haiku Reflections II is published. It was a hard decision to make, with all the great suggestions/feedback to consider here. I like what you said about a flower opening, like our minds. Lovely!

    Hi Rachel, Thanks so much Rachel. I did change the text color as you’ll see on the finished cover (sidebar). The cover format itself is set by Createspace, that I had to work with but the black line is not visible now. 😉

    Hi Liz, Maybe one to consider for another volume? I now have a fall and summer photo for volume 1 and 2. Plan to use the bright green leaf for spring but winter is still up for consideration for another cover. 😉 Thanks for stopping by.

    Happy Week to All, G

Thank you for your comments!

