My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

It’s Enough

9 Comments

DSCN1080

The path, when viewed.

Littered with all kinds of debris.

Past failures, wrong turns.

The might haves.

The could have beens.

 

But through the darkness and uncertainty.

The clouds of one more grey and dreary day.

Beyond the routines, remainders and reminders.

The light still shines.

 

Focus there.

Like a moth to a candle.

Dwell on it, in the now.

One step: bravely and soundly forward.

Resolute, not tentative.

Standing tall.

Unafraid.

 

It’s enough.

 

That one foot forward will lead to the next.

Savor, the feeling of letting go.

And of believing, once again.

 

It’s enough.

 

To leave tomorrow, to tomorrow.

The future, still to come.

Seize this day!

Savor and squeeze ever bit of goodness,

From these minutes.

These hours.

 

It’s enough.

 

All we really get.

And all, we really need.

The light beckons and warms.

Shines brightly and breaks through.

We glimpse again, our “lost” horizon.

 

It’s enough.

 

To grasp only the “small” picture, for now.

The puzzle pieces revealing,

such unexpected beauty.

Finally, as they fall into place.

 

Some names, places, faces.

Left behind and to the past.

They have served their purpose.

Now, with other roads to travel.

 

None to be regretted.

To know and to accept.

They have come and gone, for a purpose.

Leaving us, wiser and stronger.

If nothing else.

 

It’s enough.

 ***

 GHH/ 2014

PS: I’m finally back online, still learning all the do’s and don’ts of Windows 8 and my new computer.

I hope to be around to visit all my fav blogs by this weekend. A LOT of catch-up to do!!!

In the meantime, hope you enjoy this poem that was inspired by a fantastic book I read last week while I was without a computer or internet access: Living With Gusto. It is SO worthwhile. One of the best, inspirational books I’ve read in a very long time.

Happy Week to All! 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

9 thoughts on “It’s Enough

  1. So great to see ya back, Geraldine! You’ve been missed! Glad to hear you’re getting used to your new computer and Windows 8. I have Windows 7, and it was an adjustment from what I had before – Vista – which was HORRIBLE. That was the worst Windows software ever invented.

    Lovely poem!

  2. Wow, what a wonderful poem. Words to live by, to live in the now and not dwell on the past or what’s further ahead. I love the photo too.

  3. Lovely words and verse, Geraldine. Welcome back, and hope you like your new computer. Is this the first time you’ve had Windows 8? What kind of computer did you get? I still use Windows 7, but am so used to it so not sure how I would do with Windows 8. My laptop is an HP and newer with more memory installed that my old Gateway desktop, but I like using the old desktop keyboard better as my laptop has very sensitive keys and I often hit the wrong one.

  4. I moved from the comfort of XP to Windows 7, what a hard task that was. I dread the thought of No.8.

    Loved the poem, Geraldine. A lot of truth there.

    ‘To leave tomorrow, to tomorrow.
    The future, still to come.’

    Under present circumstances it’s not easy but I’m trying hard.

  5. I am so thrilled to see you dear G., and this, this post is exactly what I need, live today, even with my infected tooth, hurts like but I can’t handle antibiotics so I’m going the route of organic and natural, my car’s battery is dead but I’ll figure it out somehow, I have enough today. I’ll deal with it…You’ve said so beautifully, I’m living my bad day today, tomorrow’s another day, so glad you’re back

  6. Wonderful poem, Geraldine, and I’m still on my break, but wanted to stop by! Take care! xx

  7. the photo is inviting one to sit and ponder ..it’s enough…. thank you

  8. Hi Ron, It’s great to be back online! Thanks for your kind words. I’m still debating about going back to Windows 7, this new 8 version seems to be nothing but one big annoyance. I’ll keep you posted.

    Hi Joe, Thanks dear, you’re so nice! 🙂

    Hi Joyce, I have an HP laptop too, almost the same as my previous one which worked fine. Pretty basic. I’ll let you know what I do re: the 7/8 conundrum. If you can keep 7 on yours though, do it! It was so easy compared to the 8 version.

    Hi Val, I found 7 to be easy right from the start but it seems they decided to change everything this time around. As someone at my cooking blog said this week: What kind of ass….makes a software program where you have to hunt everywhere to find the shut-down button!!!! Just one of many ??? that Windows 8 users are grappling with, me included. I hope you have a better week, next week. Take care.

    Hi Lorraine, Thanks for your kind words. I’m so glad you liked my poem too.

    Hi Lauren, How nice to see you again. Hope you’re having a great break! See ya soon.

    Hi Ms. Pie, Thank you!

    Happy Weekend to All, G

Thank you for your comments!

