My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Rest Awhile

5 Comments

I included this poem at the beginning of my new book:

Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! 

Thought it was a good time to share it here again at My Poetic Path too.

I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

***

PS: Does anyone know why WP removes line spacing when you reblog a post? This has happened to me more than once.

There are spaces in this poem for each stanza but when I reblogged it, they disappeared.

I couldn’t figure out how to add them back in, so they would stay in place.

Another WP quirk I guess. 😦

My Poetic Path

                                     
Rest awhile.
Far from the struggles and strains of life.
Find that place and seal it in your heart.
To pause, retreat to.
Where grace always dwells.
Rest awhile.
Put back the smile.
Somewhere lost.
Now: softly, silently returned.
Rest awhile.
Peace:
A beacon in the dark.
Sheltered, nurturing.
Safe and sublime.
Rest awhile.
Treasured moments.
Tranquil dawns.
May your tomorrows.
Outlive life’s storms.
                                                                           
“Rest Awhile” © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
Photo courtesy of: Flickr

View original post

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

5 thoughts on “Rest Awhile

  1. So serene and beautiful! We all need to find that place that we can go back to for peace, assurance, self love, introspection…

  2. Gorgeous poem, Geraldine!

    Loved this line…

    “Rest awhile.
    Put back the smile.
    Somewhere lost.”

    Also, the photo you chose for this poem is PERFECT!

    Have a terrific Tuesday, my friend!

  3. So beautiful, Geraldine. And the swan is the perfect companion to your beautiful poetry.

  4. Love the swan photograph…so serene and quiet! And the poem is lovely!

  5. I agree Aditi!

    Thanks so much Ron! 🙂

    It’s amazing to think that swans are supposedly quite aggressive birds. They always look so serene in photos, don’t they? I thought this photo went well with this poem too. Thanks Kim.

    Thanks Rose and nice to see you again too!

    Happy Mid-Week, G

Thank you for your comments!

