My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Help Please! Printer Cartridge ???

4 Comments

epson printer

If there are any printer cartridge experts reading this, here’s my question…

I have an Epson XP- 310 printer that I don’t like and plan to replace soon. 

Right now though, I have a FULL black ink cartridge in this printer but the color cartridges are running low or are empty. I’d like to use up this black cartridge before I get rid of this printer permanently.

I noted online that there is a way to override their (silly!!!) defaults of requiring all the cartridges to have ink in them, even when you only require black and white printing.

I went through the steps to find the driver for this printer but when I selected the right one on the list, it came up as “cannot change driver for this printer”! 😦  What????

I’m not trying to change the driver, just select it. 

After that step is accomplished (which for me didn’t happen) there is a step in the maintenance tab apparently where you choose “status 3” and this will allow black cartridge only printing for a limited period of time.

If anyone can help with this, I’d be oh so grateful! 🙂

Heading off on my trip tomorrow but will be stopping in here and at WP Reader, now and then next week. 

Have a great week! 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

4 thoughts on “Help Please! Printer Cartridge ???

  1. When you hit PRINT, a window should pop up which in it you will see the word PROPERTIES. Click on that and another window should open which will give you the choices of paper, and also if you want to use all ink or just black. Pick black, then click ok and then print.

  2. Thanks for trying Rose but that doesn’t work on this printer, I already tried those steps. One of the color cartridges is completely empty and it just keeps coming up as “to replace’ and it won’t let me proceed with printing, even in black ink only. The steps I gave above are what I found online but as I’ve explained, I wasn’t able to go that route either. 😉 This shouldn’t be this hard to do!!!

  3. Geraldine, I used to have an Epson printer as well, and let me tell you, it was the worst printer I ever owned. It ate up ink so fast, that I had to replace the cartridges almost every couple of months. And yes, with Epson printers, they require that ALL the cartridges have ink in them, even when you only want to use black and white.

    I wish I could help you on this, but I no longer have that printer so I have no idea how fix this problem.

    I don’t know if you’ve ever owned an HP Printer, but they are faaaaabulous. I’ve have had one for YEARS and it’s still working perfect. In fact, both my computers are HP’s. I LOVE anything HP because they’re reliable and long lasting.

    Have a wonderful time on your trip!

    Safe journey, my friend!
    X

  4. Thanks for trying Ron. Yes, I actually DO have an HP printer that I can still use. I’m going back to that one and recycling this Epson one. It’s been nothing but a pain….not user friendly to set up and use, the printing is not that great and yes, the ink goes down way too fast.

    I did have a nice trip overall, thanks Ron, G

Thank you for your comments!

