My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Word of the Week: Perception

5 Comments

path photo black and white

From a distance, a “time out” from our usual routine thoughts… what do we perceive?

“Perception appears to be automatic, but in fact it is a learned phenomenon. The world you live in including the experience of your body, is completely dictated by how you learned to perceive it. If you can change your perception, you change the experience of your body and your world.”

from the book:

Ageless Body. Timeless Mind by Deepak Chopra

***
What a hopeful and inspiring message this is.

I read this book several years ago; it’s one that I can highly recommend. 🙂

Written many years ago, but the insights and wisdom of this author still ring true. 

Have a Wonderful and Insightful Week!

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

5 thoughts on “Word of the Week: Perception

  1. “If you can change your perception, you change the experience of your body and your world.”

    How true that is, Geraldine! I can’t tell you how many times by changing my perception about something, it gave me a whole new way of seeing it. So yes, I think it’s a “learned” experience.

    Great reminder, my friend. And thank you!

    Btw, I love Deepak!

    Happy Sunday!
    X

  2. Perception is a funny thing as each person has their own unique way of seeing things, and not just visually.

  3. This is so true. Having a positive perception of events, etc. can make all the difference. Love the photo, good choice for this word.

  4. I am getting SO much out of re-reading this book Ron, it is filled with gems like this one. He is an amazing man who has helped so many people. Not your typical MD!

    Yes Rose, good point, not just visually.

    Thanks Joe.

    Have a great week, G

  5. Granny loves Deepak’s books. That man has changed her whole life. We haven’t read this one yet, but we will 🙂 Pawkisses and a few extra for Mr Cheddar 🙂 ❤

Thank you for your comments!

