My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Word of the Week: Wisdom

6 Comments

grey owl

When it comes to our animal pals, owls have always been thought of as a symbol of wisdom. πŸ™‚

Here are a couple of reasons why owls are considered wise, from Yahoo answers:

-Back in the old days when people paid attention to such things, they noticed that owls stay quiet, keep their eyes open and strike quickly.

-Owls were sacred to Minerva, the Greek goddess of wisdom (among other things) so that her reputation rubbed off on them.

This gorgeous grey owl photo is one that I have on a note card I purchased a while back, from:

Tammie at SpirithelpersΒ 

(click to see the card and visit her lovely Etsy photographic shop)

I am just enchanted by this photograph.Β I hope you enjoy it too.

We can learn a lot from birds and other animals, can’t we?Β 

Here’s to a week filled with wisdom and wonder! πŸ™‚

Β Β 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

6 thoughts on “Word of the Week: Wisdom

  1. I love this photo too. Owls are so wise. I know from personal experience how quiet they are and how smart too. Great post.

  2. Geraldine, what a GORGEOUS photograph! Yes, owls are definitely associated with wisdom. They are also a very powerful totem animal in American Indian symbolism.

    I checked out Tammie’s Etsy Shop. What an amazingly talented photographer! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Have a super week, my friend!
    X

  3. hello Geraldine,
    thank you for enjoying this photo and sharing it, so kind of you.
    recently in the middle of the night i heard one calling
    made me think i should go out at night more often
    so many of us love owls….

  4. I love your “owl stories” Joe, so interesting!

    I agree about Tammie’s photography Ron, it’s terrific. And this owl is one of my favs from her collection.

    Thanks again Tammie, for allowing me to share this great photo. Yes, so many people do love owls, I agree. πŸ™‚

    Have a super week, G

  5. Beautiful post, Geraldine, and my daughter loves owls and it’s rubbing off on me. πŸ™‚ Sending love and hugs! xo

  6. heavens I have never ever seen an owl so clearly, wow so beautiful , atta girl G.

Thank you for your comments!

