My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Tanka Moment: Spring Thaw

5 Comments

geese-tanka

This is a poem from the archives and my first attempt at Tanka poetry. 

I hope you enjoy it for the first time, or perhaps, once again! 😉

It has definitely “thawed” here in BC, only a bit of snow left up on the higher mountains. Everything else is starting to bloom! 🙂

How is your weather? 

You can read more about Tanka poetry here.

Have a Wonderful Weekend! 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

5 thoughts on “A Tanka Moment: Spring Thaw

  1. A very pretty ‘Tanka’ Geraldine. Good to hear of the thawing and spring in bloom. Same down here in Colo. Have a great weekend and enjoy the great outdoors. I am off to go celebrate my 68th birthday today with my girls, husband and granddaughters for lunch and then enjoy some of the outdoors and sunshine with them as well. 🙂

  2. Geraldine, I love both your photograph AND poem. They go perfect with each other.

    Don’t you just love this time of the year? The past couple of days here, the weather has been gorgeous – sunny skies, coolish, and flowers blossoming everywhere 🙂

    Ahh….SPRING! And can you believe that tomorrow is the first day of MAY?

    Have a lovely weekend, my friend!
    X

  3. I like the photo from the Prairies and the wonderful tanka poem. Its cooler than usual here today but definitely no snow left.

  4. Thanks Joyce and I hope you had a super birthday! Congrats and I wish you MANY happy years to come. 🙂

    Thanks Ron, this is a photo from my archives, from the Canadian Prairies, where I grew up. There are a lot of geese there. 😉

    I’m guessing Philly is looking pretty amazing right about now, with all the flowers starting to bloom! 🙂

    Joe, It is cooler but if it’s sunny I’m ok with that. I’m glad the heat hasn’t started here yet, it gets too hot in the summer at times, for my liking. 😦

    Have a fabulous, healthy and happy weekend, G

  5. That is a beautiful Tanka poem! It really evokes how winter is slowly driven back by the forces of spring. I’m glad you are getting warmer weather with beautiful blooms! 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

