My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Remembering Michael Landon

7 Comments

Michael Landon Quotes

“Every script I’ve written and every series I’ve produced have expressed the things I most deeply believe.” Michael Landon

***

Michael Landon  (click to read his Wiki page)had only 54 years on this earth. But in that time, he spread so much good will, hope and inspiration.

He is one of my all-time fav actors, particularly for his role in the series: Highway to Heaven, which aired from 1984-89, ending just two years before his untimely death, due to cancer.

I recently purchased Season 1 and 2 from Amazon and I am really enjoying watching these shows again. Unlike so many other TV shows from the past, this one has stood the test of time so well. The stories are still relevant, entertaining and thought-provoking too.

I hope he’s got his real wings now. 😉

 If you are familiar with this series, you’ll know what I mean!

RIP Michael. You will not be forgotten. A life that mattered.

 

Here’s my 5 Star Review from Amazon.ca:

How wonderful it has been to watch this inspiring and entertaining series, once again.

I loved Highway to Heaven when it first aired in the late 80s and unlike so many shows from that era, this one still “rings true” all these years later.

Michael Landon was perfect as Jonathan, the earth-bound angel on a mission to help all kinds of people in need, along with his trusty sidekick, Victor French, who was also a very good choice in his role.

Relevant, uplifting and with plenty of humor thrown in too.

A very well-spent 10. and I do plan to purchase more season dvds soon.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

7 thoughts on “Remembering Michael Landon

  1. I adored Michael Landon and loved Highway To Heaven and Little House on the Prairie and Bonanza! I wept for him when he died as he was so much a part of my life and he influenced me so much. I grew up with him. He was an amazing man and Christian.

  2. Granny loved him, her little Joe and later Little House on the Prairie, that we still enjoy 🙂 Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend and one Extra for Mr Cheddar 🙂 ❤

  3. Thank you for sharing these touching words about Michael Landon, Rose.

    It was SO sad that a person with that much talent and the desire to spread such positive ideas and energy, was gone so soon. He was an amazing man who also left us with an amazing legacy that lives on.

    Yes, Little Joe…he wasn’t even 20 when he started on Bonanza but he sure was a pro from the get-go. I remember that show too. Pawkisses back to you Angel and one for Granny too. Mr. Cheddar sends his best too. 🙂

    Happy Weekend, G

  4. We are watching little house on the prairie. He is wonderful! I agree.

  5. Geraldine, both a beautiful tribute to Michael Landon and DVD review! And yes, I remember him very well from the series Bonanza, Little House on the Prairie AND Highway to Heaven. He was not only a wonderful actor but also an amazing person. And how sad that he passed at such an early age. I remember the time I lived in Lake Tahoe for a summer and visited the movie set of the house and ranch where the series Bonanza was filmed and seeing pictures of Michael Landon on the walls.

    Have a fantastic weekend, my friend!

    X

  6. Michael Landon was so well liked, as Little Joe, Charles and Jonathan. He left so much of a legacy behind that is so positive. And yes, very sad that he passed on so soon. He will never be forgotten. Excellent post and tribute.

  7. GS, I didn’t watch that series on a regular basis but I know it was beloved by a lot of viewers. I’m glad you’re enjoying it again! 🙂

    Ron, thanks so much for your kind words and for sharing your memories of visiting the Ponderosa set/ranch, how cool is that. 🙂 I didn’t realize until Joe told me, that they actually did quite a bit of the filming for that show in Nevada.

    He certainly was well liked Joe, with good reason. Wasn’t that episode with Anthony Zerbe a hoot last night? 😉 The Devil and Jonathan Smith if any readers want to check it out, on the Season 2 discs.

    Have a great weekend and hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

