My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

“FUN” with MS Word 2013

12 Comments

If you are considering getting the new version of Word 2013 you might want to think again!

I finally “bit the bullet” and got a trial version of this software, to complete my novel formatting and for other book projects I currently have in the works.

To say I’m not impressed by this new, “improved” version of Word is putting it mildly. I have used earlier versions of Word and found them acceptable and fairly easy to navigate but Word 2013 is a big disappointment.

Here’s my one star review over at Amazon:

I could go on and on about why I’ve given Word 2013 1 star, suffice to say, if I could, it would be zero stars!!!

What a pain it has been, trying to navigate this software to do what should be simple tasks like adding page numbers on specific pages, working with headers and footers, trying to find where things are, on the new ‘improved’ ribbon….

Microsoft NEEDS and big-time to get ‘real people’ working at their company, when they design new versions of software, not just programmers/designers, who probably never work on things like book manuscripts themselves.

And speaking of MS, how’s this for a laugh:

I contacted their support services about the issues I was having with adding headers/footers to my novel manuscript and no one I spoke to/chatted with there could figure it out.

I went through 5 (yes 5) different dept./reps. and none of them had any answers!!

If they don’t know how to navigate this software, how do they expect users to?

I’m not geekess, and don’t want to be. But with Word 2013 you better be prepared to learn for yourself.

I FINALLY got my page number issues worked out but ‘surrendered’ LOL when it came to the headers I wanted to use, on specific pages. I’ve already wasted hours and hours on all this. I want to be working on my projects, not wasting time with formatting!

I also asked several friends for help with these issues too. One friend who is an author and has used Word for years told me that even a formatting expert that he spoke to was having major issues with navigating the new Word. I’m glad it wasn’t just me!

Here’s a link to the other reviews over at Amazon.

Now I’m going to work out my software frustrations in the kitchen!! That’s something that always works. 😉

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

12 thoughts on ““FUN” with MS Word 2013

  1. I’m sorry you had such a lousy experience, Geraldine. I don’t use Word 2013…though I recently got a new computer with Windows 8 (which I’m really loving), I kept my old word…I feel safe with what I know and the one I have has no issues that I’ve encountered. I just don’t understand why they have to keep mucking with things…it’s annoying!

  2. You are usually so competent when it comes to things like this but I know how frustrating this has been for you, working with this new edition of Word. And if the so-called experts can’t answer your questions, who can? Sounds like they need to go back to the drawing board for this one.

  3. Tell me about it! I sweat blood trying to sort out the new Word. Microsoft is too clever by half. They come up with these complicated ideas that even the most talented Word users fail to understand. Why change things that work, that’s what I say. Geraldine, you have my utmost sympathy. My Joe cannot understand why I sometimes can’t type his client accounts because of some idiotic new arrangement thought up by Microsoft.

  4. oh seriously not good when even the help desk and techs cant figure out how to do their own program…bah…i never do updates until they are out at least 6 months to get the bugs out….

  5. I finally got comfortable with using Word 2007/2010 – a big change from Word 2003 – and I’m not switching to anything new, no, thank you very much! 🙂 They think they’re too clever and they think they have to come up with changes all the time. But they are sloppy and rush the new versions out without checking them out properly.
    So what kitchen goodies have you prepared? 🙂

  6. Hi Talon, Sounds like a good plan re: Word. I’ll be interested to know your thoughts on the new Windows. And as they say, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. So many people are complaining about this new version of Word.

    Hi Joe, I think I am pretty competent with most formatting etc, but this sure had me stumped. I was in good company though, not that it helped to answer my questions. 😉

    Hi Val, When the MS staff can’t answer ??? then I think that says it all. And you have my sympathy too Val. I think I’ll go back to an earlier version of Word and ditch this trial I’m on.

    Hi Brian, But eventually, you pretty well have to update don’t you? Just like the operating systems. Someone gets all comfortable with it and than they change everything. I don’t think it makes for happy customers, that’s for sure.

    Hi Vesper, Good plan Vesper, for now. But as I said to Brian, eventually ya gotta to!!

    As for kitchen goodies, now there’s a topic I always enjoy. Check out:

    http://veggiesyarnsandtails.wordpress.com/2013/05/11/kasha-and-beet-salad-with-celery-and-feta/

    this is just the yummiest salad and so beautiful too.

    Thanks for your comments, support and visits, always appreciated. Happy Wednesday, G

  7. Well that sounds like a lot of frustration, and hard work for nothing….

    I use open office, and find that hard enough.

    Jen

  8. Scary, they just keep getting less and less user friendly. it’s ridiculous.

  9. Sorry that MS Word has left you with a bad taste in your mouth. I’m also sorry that they couldn’t help you do what you needed to. A system like that should be user friendly; I’m sorry that Word was neither. Hugs! 🙂

  10. I am sorry you can’t delete my comments on acceptable, I felt so humiliated I was just going to stop visiting bu they I did write those comments, so I continue visiting, ’cause I have too much to learn.

  11. Hi Jen, I have Open Office too but it has it’s limitations, especially with the book manuscripts I’m working on. Everything reverts back to Word it seems, when interacting with publishing sites etc. Now I think I’ll see about downloading a Word 2007 and ditching this version.

    Hi Charles, I couldn’t agree more, nice to see you here! 🙂

    Hi Ruinwen, It’s really only the 2013 version that I struggled with and I’m certainly not alone. 😦 It definitely should be user friendly, I agree. Hugs back to you my friend.

    Hi Lorraine, Can we just drop this Lorraine. You said what you said and at the time you must have meant it. But I’m certainly not dwelling on those comments. That’s nice to read that you’ve learned from me, I appreciate that a lot.

    Happy Weekend, G

  12. I still miss Word 2003 LOL

Thank you for your comments!