My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

Book Review:Embraced by the Light

6 Comments

 

 

I had been meaning to read this book for a long time; finally found the time one afternoon, this past week.

To say I was disappointed by Ms. Eadie’s story would be an understatement. Her near death experience that has been so widely read and discussed, in my opinion simply did not ring true.

 

                                                             

I  wrote a review on Amazon about this book, that pretty well sums up my thoughts on this book, in a nutshell:

 

 

  NOT buying this story!, September 11, 2010

By  Geraldine (Canada) –

This review is from: Embraced by the Light (Paperback) I finally got around to reading this book. I was not impressed, in a nutshell.

As a person who has had numerous interactions with the spirit world, what Ms. Eadie describes as her near death experience does not ring true. I don’t know if she was having a very vivid dream, a drug reaction or something else, how she describes life on the other side comes across as phoney and unbelievable. I was very disappointed with this book. A waste of time and money (I borrowed this copy from the library, I’m glad I didn’t pay for it).

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts on this author’s story?

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

6 thoughts on “Book Review:Embraced by the Light

  1. Pingback: Book Review:Embraced by the Light « My Poetic Path | Pulplit Magazine

  2. Haven’t read it, and probably won’t now. Did just finish The Shack. What did you think of that one?

  3. Geraldine, I wouldn’t have read it because in general I’m very sceptic of such topics; I think that, if they are real, such experiences should be kept on a personal level, that by being so publicized their credibility is much diminished. But, it’s interesting that now, after reading your review, I might borrow this book from the library to flick through it and get a taste of what makes it so bad… 🙂
    *hugs*

  4. Thanks for weeding this one out!

    Part 2 of your parcel came…. I hope I can mail it Saturday!

  5. Thanks for the warning. *hugs*

  6. Hi Sandy L, Not familiar with “the Shack” Ill have to look that one up.

    Hi Vesper, You’ve brought up some very good points V. I agree about it being a very personal experience. Sharing, in a credible way is still fine with me but this book as I said did not ring true. Millions of people loved it though. As I said before, I’ve had many interactions with the spirit world, I’m sure this was a big part of my doubts about this book. Let me know if you give it a read.

    Hi Sandy C, Oh goodie! (about the package) 😉

    Hi Ruinwen, You are welcome dear friend. I only have limited reading time these days and I don’t want to waste it. this was a waste of time for me and actually made me sad. It’s stories like this that give the legit. ones about the spirit world, a bad name. Again, IMHO.

    Hugs to all, G

Thank you for your comments!