My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

A Tanka Moment: Happiness Daisies

8 Comments

                               

This one is for you Teri.

Thanks for all the beautiful daisies that you share.

I’m still working on  and reading about Tanka poetry. It can be deceptively simple.

Unlike a haiku, tanka poems should actually be one continuous thought, written in 5 lines. Syllables of: 5, 7,5,7,7.

If you’ve never tried writing a tanka poem, you might enjoy it. It’s can be challenging.

And a lot of fun too, with the right subject to start with! 😉

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

8 thoughts on “A Tanka Moment: Happiness Daisies

  1. Oh Geraldine, this is a beautiful tanka! Just beautiful. And even more beautiful because you wrote it for me. You make me so happy.. Thank you so much. sniffsniff.

    BIG HUGS and more BIG HUGS.

  2. I like this tanka and this photo. Daisies do brighten up a dark day, any day really.

  3. lovely tanka and dedication to daisy Teri

  4. Lovely and who else than the queen of daisies deserves this tanka.
    So sweet of you!
    And yes daisies brightens the day!

  5. Hi Teri, You are so welcome my friend. When I saw these lovely yellow daisies in a planter on Monday, you were the first person who came to mind. The tanka followed!!! I know you love tanka poems too.

    Hi Joe, It was kind of dark sky on Monday wasn’t it? These stood out, with their brilliant yellow.

    Hi Suki, I love your name! Thank you for stopping by and your kind words.

    Hi Marianne, She certainly does! I love your black kitty on your blog btw, so sweet.

    Happy Wednesday, G 🙂

  6. Oops, I pushed the “like” button above by mistake! Shameless self-promotion!! Of course I like this post, but I didn’t mean to push that button LOL :<)

  7. Just seeing this tanka with it’s beautiful flowers cheered me!
    It is sunny here today, a bonus really, it was supposed to be cloudy.

  8. I’ve never tried a Tanka. Very interesting. We all love Teri! Queen of the daisies!!! 🙂
    Beautiful poem for her!

Thank you for your comments!