My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

Need More FOCUS??

8 Comments

feature1-thumb

I recently found out about a very cool desktop app. called: Focus Booster.

It’s a little gadget that sits on your desktop (you choose the location) that you set for a specific time period to work followed by a timed break. It works great! I tried it out for the first time this week and I’m amazed at how much more productive I’ve been.

I have mine set for 30 minute work sessions, followed by a 5 minute break. You can adjust to what works best for you.

There is the option to have a ticking sound for work/break sessions. I have it on for the breaks and off for the work time. At the end of either session, there is a soft bell sound to let you know it’s time to get back to work/or to get up and take a break. 😉

I have a bad habit of sitting at my computer for long periods of time, without breaks.

Also, there’s those less than productive times when I plan to visit JUST ONE MORE BLOG and that stretches into a much longer break than I had planned, from my actual work.

You can read all about the science behind the Focus Booster here.

Here’s to productivity!

And do let me know if you give Focus Booster a try and how it worked for you! 🙂

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

8 thoughts on “Need More FOCUS??

  1. Oh, I can’t wait to try this out! I’m so bad about sitting here, writing for three or four hours without a break! Then I’m stiff and sore when I get up, not to mention that I’m getting no exercise at all. I could set this for regular breaks like you do, or even a bit longer for a short walk on the treadmill. Thanks for sharing this one. When iGoogle closes down in 3 weeks, I will need to use another portal page for when I’m online, too, so I’m losing all the widgets I had set up there. So I’m looking for both desktop and homepage thingies to keep me organized and productive. Going to go download this right now!

  2. That’s a cool app. I’m good about taking breaks and this is helped by my labradoodle, who always lets me know when I’ve been at my desk too long. 🙂

  3. I don’t have a smartphone or even a cell phone (I know, can you BELIEVE that??), but this looks like a AWESOME app if I did have one because I have a tendency to get online and forget how much time I’ve been on. Then I’ll look at the clock and realize I’ve been online for FOUR hours without a break.

    Thanks for sharing, Geraldine and have a lovely weekend!

    X

  4. This is a great idea. And you need this ’cause I know you work too hard and so steadily and often don’t take breaks.

  5. Hi Marcia, I think you’ll love Focus Booster. I can’t believe how helpful it’s been already and I only started using it this week.

    Hi Kim, That’s the best kind of break-minder! 😉 Who needs a PC app. LOL

    Hi Ron, It is for a PC Ron, I don’t have any ‘fancy’ phones or tablets either LOL, unless you would call a Kindle, kind of a tablet. 😉 But FB is definitely something you should try out on your PC. I think you’ll love it too. 🙂

    Hi Joe, It is a great idea. And I agree, at times I get so wrapped up in working on something or reading online that hours go by when I barely budge. NOT good!!!

    Happy Weekend to All, G

  6. Anything that prods me to take a break would be a godsend. I really must try this app. Thanks, Geraldine.

  7. That would be fantastic for all writers….remember to eat for example, or stretch, I can see how useful it would be to you ’cause you have so many different interests…a little reminder goes a long way

Thank you for your comments!