My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

Word of the Week: Devotion

8 Comments

This week’s Word of the Week is: Devotion

                                      

                                          

de·vo·tion //  (d-vshn) n. 1. Ardent, often selfless affection and dedication, as to a person or principle. See Synonyms at love. 2. Religious ardor or zeal; piety. 3. a. An act of religious observance or prayer, especially when private. Often used in the plural. b. devotions Prayers or religious texts: a book of devotions. 4. The act of devoting or the state of being devoted.

                         

Who or What are you devoted to?

                                                                         

 The photo above is another recent one I took. One of my long-standing devotions is to the pursuit and sharing of all things beautiful!

Wishing you a wonderful week!

PS: I also have a new post over at Veggies…celebrating the apple harvest with a yummy muffin recipe. 🙂

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

8 thoughts on “Word of the Week: Devotion

  1. This one is hard, Geraldine, without sounding like a greeting card.
    Friends, family, and making myself a worthwhile person.

    there!

  2. I’m devoted to my family…my beliefs…and my creative passion. *hugs* 🙂

  3. I’m devoted to keeping the hope alive in my life and to finding beauty in the small things. Those hydrangeas are gorgeous!

  4. Hm…devotion IS a laden word as Sandy says.

    I am devoted to finding all the barriers to love in my world and removing them, one at a time (or two if I’m lucky!).

    Thanks for the prompt! And it’s good to reconnect!

    Hugs, your own self!

  5. Hi SandyL, These are good things to aspire too.

    Hi Ruinwen, I knew them all, before I read your comment!

    Hi Sel,I can so relate to those.

    Hi Beth, So nice to see you again and what good things you aspire to as well.

    Here’s to a wonderful Wednesday, G 🙂

  6. That’s a beautiful shot of the geraniums.

    Evidently I’m hopelessly devoted to old musicals, from the song looping in my mind.

  7. I love when you do these words, Geraldine. This post reminds me how every word is a poem, a story. I love considering the nuances of meaning. Thanks, friend.

  8. Hi Carrie, Those are actually hydrangeas. So nice to see so many, here in BC. They didn’t grow on the Prairies, where I was born. I’m trying to figure out the song you hear. 😉

    Hi SandyC, I’m so glad you are enjoying this series. I like doing these, they focus my thoughts on the word too.

    Hugs and Happy Friday, G

Thank you for your comments!