My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

My “Me Month” Update

16 Comments

 

 

Isn’t this a glorious rose?

They truly do bring peace to mind for me. And it’s a topic I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. Peace: in all it’s forms. Peace and the power of kindness.

Choosing kindness and peace can and does change the world and each of our lives.

I’m reading a very interesting book at present: Choosing Civility by P.M. Forni. The author explores some of the overlooked aspects of why we should make an effort every day: to be kind, courteous and thoughtful, even to strangers we might never meet again.

I had an experience earlier this week, that once again brought to mind and made me realise the impact of what seemed to me to be a  small gesture. I stopped by to see a friend where she works, to see how she was and to bring her a small gift I had sitting on a shelf for a while. I chose that day to go, didn’t know why.

When I gave her this gift, gave her a hug and shared some supportive words of encouragement with her, she started to cry (a boss from hell, you get the picture) and whispered in my ear: “you don’t know what this means to me, especially today”. At that moment, I realised why I had been prompted to stop by, even though I wasn’t feeling that well myself that morning.

Kindness, what power and what transformation it can bring.

So, back to this year’s: Me Month. What have I learned and experienced in the past 30 days? This year, it was more than just finding time to chill and relax each day, to pamper a bit…I spent a lot of time thinking about “the bigger picture”. What life is all about. What’s important and what should be left behind. It was a time of learning and contemplation. At times profound even. Those “ta da” moments when what might be right in front of us, finally becomes truly meaningful and clear.

So, I begin the month of May refreshed, renewed and ready to take on many projects and reach for new goals.  A time to dwell on the positive, try to minimize the negative. A time to once again be reborn in a way.

I’ll be leaving My Poetic Path and Veggies, Yarns and Tails. I’ve been feeling too “stretched” for the past several weeks. I always said that when blogging became more of a chore than one of just fun, I’d let it go. There are days when finding a post topic leaves me stumped. When I hurry to visit favorite blogs because I haven’t been around for quite a while. So, for these and a few other reasons, I think it really is time to say  farewell.

In addition to my current projects, I hope to have a more “commercial” website up and running in the next few months. Perhaps I will see some of you there. I hope so. Meeting so many of you over the years, via my blogs and yours has been a gift.

I wish you, all the good things…

                                       

Peace Rose photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

16 thoughts on “My “Me Month” Update

  1. Good luck with what you do, Geraldine. Keep us informed!

  2. I understand, and wish you the best in all your future plans. Have a great May, Geraldine.

  3. Aww. I’m going to miss you so much. You are such a great poet. I wish you all the best with your website and with everything you do in the future. Much love to you XXXX

  4. I understand but will miss you! I wish you luck in all that you do! Take care~

  5. I have enjoyed both your blogs and I will be sorry to see them go…yet at the same time, I await your new creation because I know it will be wonderful!

    Keep in touch and keep taking care of you! *hugs* 🙂

  6. really, no more blogging? I can understand and sometimes it’s good to take a break and do other things

    I wish you great happiness in everything you do

  7. Thanks for all your good wishes. Happy Blogging! G

  8. All the very best for your future plans

  9. Hi , Geraldine,
    Yes, it’s a glorious rose. It’s a splendid and glorious rose. It’s a splendiferous rose.

    I once saw P.M. Forni interviewed about “Choosing Civility”. I thought, I should by that book. Now after reading your recommendation, I will.

    I thought you’d might enjoy these:
    “Life is a Relational Experience…”
    “Life is a Relational Experience: Civility, Ethics and the Quality of Life” – Dr. P.M. Forni, John Hopkins University. Recorded on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008.

    Reservoir HS Chooses Civility
    Reservoir High School Television class created videos to represent each of the 25 rules of civility as outlined by P.M. Forni – the video shown is the top 10 as selected by the class

    I’m happy to hear that you had a positive and productive Me Month.

    I look forward to your “commercial” website

    All the best,
    DavidM

  10. i’m sorry to hear you’re going but i understand completely. here’s to your new venture… may it turn out as you hope. have a great day.

  11. Dear Travel,David,Naquillity, And thanks to you as well, for all the kind words and good wishes.

    David, so interesting that you are aware of this author’s work. I don’t think it’s a topic that too many people give a lot of thought to. But all things considered, manners and civility has a huge impact on every day of our lives, doesn’t it? I’ll check out those links asap.

    I wish you all a wonderful week, G

  12. I do hope you will keep in touch! I’ll miss you here and over there at Veggies!
    Best Wishes and much luck in your new endeavors, hon!
    (((hugs)))

  13. Oh, G, I had no idea! Darn being so busy that I lose track of friends. I’m going to miss your photos, poems and recipes – until you get your new site up and running.

  14. A beautiful rose, to be sure. Thanks for sharing these thoughts.

  15. Hi Sallee, I’ll stop in when I can. Thanks for your continued good wishes.

    Hi Julia, thanks for stopping in and thank you.

    Hi Carrie, Wow, what a long time it’s been. I hope you are feeling better and that the healing continues. My thoughts are with you.

    Hi Sandy C, So nice of you to stop in, I agree about the rose.

    All is well with me. Working on my new newspaper column these days, trying to get several completed ahead of schedule. Fun stuff.

    I wish you all a beautiful, productive and safe summer season.

    Many hugs, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

