My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

I Will Remember You…

16 Comments

As any of my regular blog readers already know, my mom, Helen Ruth and I were very close.

 

mom

She passed on 6 years ago this May.

Missing her is an ache in my heart that has never gone away. 

One of the things that does help when I’m feeling particularly sad some days, is remembering all the fun we shared over the years; in particular when we were working on craft projects together.

My mom and I were both avid seamstresses and knitters and we spent many a happy hour,  sewing and knitting up a storm, often into the wee hours of the morning. Losing track of time as the hours flew by in creativity and conversation. But of course, with a stop for food “fuel-ups” now and then. 😉

I still have many sets of her old knitting needles. Some are chipped and worn at the points but I still love using them. They make me feel connected to my mom. Like she is still here with me, watching what I’m working on and encouraging me when I hit a snag!

She would have loved to see the resurgence in interest for knitting and crochet and how so many young women (and guys too!) are taking up  yarn crafts for the first time. 🙂

 

I started this colorful knit scarf this week, using a set of my mom’s knitting needles:

 remember post 001

 
It should look like this when complete:

scarf complete

This one’s for you mom.♥

I will remember you… always.

Also written for the March 31st, Woven Dreams  prompt: Remember

PS: Here’s the link to this scarf  kit/pattern, in case you’d like to knit one too! It’s easy!

Happy Easter Everyone! 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

16 thoughts on “I Will Remember You…

  1. I’m sorry for your loss, Geraldine. I know how you feel. My mom passed away not even 2 years ago and I miss her every single day. She was an avid knitter, too, and I have her needles. I like knowing how many beautiful things she created with them…knowing they were something she used for so many hours…hard to imagine just how many hours. You’re right, though, it’s important to remember all the fun times, the shared laughter, the shared experiences. They remain alive in our hearts.

  2. So very touching Geraldine. And such wonderful memories to share.

  3. I didn’t know, Geraldine, and I’m so very sorry. Your mom was beautiful. She lives on in your heart. I know how comforting it is to use objects that belonged to loved ones who are no more, or do things the way they used to do them… My Grandmother knitted a jacket for her and she never got to use it. I’m wearing it and feeling her close, even after so many years…
    The scarf is lovely!

    Thank you for your wishes. Happy Easter, Geraldine, to you and to your family! xoxoxo

  4. smiles…a wonderful rememberence of her…my wifes mom passed away a few years ago as well…and i know the memories are hard for her, but we also try to focus on the beauty of the time we shared with her….

  5. Memories are always with you to cherish but it’s not the same as someone still being here. She is always with you in spirit and is thinking of you too. Love goes on. This is a wonderful remembrance.

  6. I’m very touched by this, she is/was so beautiful, a beautiful memory

  7. and ps as always my photo won’t comment I don’t understand, canyou fix it?

  8. Hi Talon, I don’t think we’ll ever really stop missing the people we truly loved who have now passed on. But it’s an ache that I thought wouldn’t be so deep with longing, for so many years afterwards. I agree though, it’s best to dwell on the good times, the good memories…and those I have so many of with my mom. Sounds like you do too, with yours.

    Hi Teri, Thanks Teri and for the wonderful prompt this week too. A good weekend to look back and remember.

    Hi Vesper, Oh, thanks so much for sharing that lovely story about your grandmother, I loved it. She must have been a special lady. I hope your trip to the Big Apple is wonderful. Lucky you! come back to Woven Dreams soon ok, you’re already missed. 😦

    Hi Brian, Sounds like you had a special mom-in-law, how lucky you are. Not always the case sadly. 😦

    Hi Joe, Thanks Joe, I hope my mom has shared it too, where she is now. I know she would have liked what I’m making too. 🙂

    Hi Lorraine, Thanks L, she was in her 70’s in that pic. and she was/is always a beauty.
    Your photo at Woven Dreams and the link too are working fine. Nothing to fix my dear.

    Happy Easter and lots of Hugs, G

  9. Lovely! Yes, I still yearn to spend more time with my mom and it’s been years and years since she passed on. Something I think we never get over…the memories are really all we keep.

  10. Memories are very special, especially those of family and loved ones.

  11. Geraldine, I enjoyed reading your tribute to your mom. I was one of four children born to my mom and dad and the third girl. My mom taught all of us three girls how to sew and cook, etc. She could also knit and crochet beautiful things and was also a professional seamstress after high school. I never learned how to knit or crochet good like her and could never be as good at it as she, but didn’t try, as it was not at the time what I enjoyed doing and more into my writing. She passed away 4 yrs. ago this coming July, but it is nice to know another woman who also shares such loving thoughts and memories of their mother and the interests that could bind them together, figuratively as well as literally. 🙂

  12. Hi Sue, I’m sure your mom’s spirit is always with you too. I feel my mom’s presence even now, all these years later. When she first passed on, I had several experiences that were so tangible and left me with no doubts that she had moved on to another place and that all was well. Some day, I plan to write more about more about these spiritual experiences. I’ve been told already that I’ve helped others by sharing some of these experiences, with people who are grieving. And sometimes, the grieving can last for a long time.

    Hi Rob, They certainly are.

    Hi Joyce, Thanks for sharing this lovely story about your mom and family. You said it so well and I couldn’t agree more.

    Happy Week, G

  13. I still remember and miss my Dad. I don’t think anyone ever really “gets over” losing a loved one. Thank you for this week’s prompt and for your story about your Mom.

  14. Big Hug! Such a beautiful way to remember your Mom. My heart and prayers are with you.

  15. Hi Rae, I don’t think we do either. 😦 Sending hugs. I know you’re dad is thinking of you too.

    Hi Ruinwen, And big hugs back to you. You are such a special friend.

    Have a wonderful weekend, G

  16. I know she’s smiling up on high, I love the completed scarf colours or rainbows and beautiful days the post itself would not accept my like because they say my password is wrong but it’s right lol either way it’s gorgeous

Thank you for your comments!

