My Poetic Path

My journey…shared in poems, prose and photos.

The Beckoning Spring

13 Comments

the beckoning spring

The solitude and stillness, at once comforting and disconcerting.
Hints of a breeze.
Thoughts engaging, surfacing memories.
The past: plainly in view and on display.

The chill to the bark and bone.
Reality, brought back.
To the forefront.
Branches of the mind.

Whispering winds.
Harbingers of haunted dreams.
Times, places, faces.
Best forgotten, never quite complete.
Or discarded.

To be alone in this moment.
To seal it,
wrap it carefully
In a delicate leaf of black lace.

A tear runs down a waiting cheek.
Slips silently to the earth.
Returning to the bark and the branches.
The leaves, still to appear.

Yesterday becomes today.
Promises of tomorrow, perhaps.
Renewed hope and letting go.
Life’s lessons, from the trees.

***

A poem I wrote a few years ago that was prompted by this intriguing photo taken by Jason Evans.

It’s sunny here today, woohoo..hope you have sunshine too, wherever you are! 🙂

“The Beckoning Spring” © Geraldine Hartman 2008

From the poetry collection: My Poetic Path

Author: Geraldine Helen Hartman

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I am the author of numerous books and eBooks, in a variety of genres, including: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well -The Groovy Green Kitchen (Volume 1 and Volume 2) -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Haiku Reflections: The Four Seasons (Volumes I, II and III and IV) My titles (in Kindle and print book formats) are available at all Amazon sites.

13 thoughts on “The Beckoning Spring

  1. I love this thoughtful piece – it spirals in and out of the vagaries and timing of life.

  2. no sunshine where I am today but thanks for the quiet & calming thoughts

    have a great day.

  3. so much we can learn from trees….smiles…love all the nature elements and how you have blended that with time as well…..

  4. I love this poem, it’s magical. I could read this one again and again.

  5. Hi Sue, Thank you for your kind words. I’m thinking about spring so much these days, it was nice to re-read this poem today and to share it again.

    Hi Lissa, I’m glad you found this calming Lissa. Here’s to lots of sunshine on the way.

    Hi Brian, I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem Brian. It’s one of my favs actually. 😉

    Hi Joe, What a lovely thing to say. Magical, I’ll take it!

    Happy Week, G

  6. Your writing is so beautiful it takes my breath away…

  7. I recognized the photo immediately; it brought me such fond memories. Yes, I wrote a vignette for that contest… 🙂

    To be alone in this moment.
    To seal it,
    wrap it carefully
    In a delicate leaf of black lace.

    You wrote such a wonderful poem, Geraldine, nostalgic yet strong. I love it! And yes, this is another one to keep reading whenever one’s heart needs to be wrapped in hope.

    xoxoxo

  8. 🙂 I’m liking your tree poem, Geraldine. Nature has soooo many lessons for us, the trees are great teachers is we will watch and listen. Plus pay heed to great teachers like you. I had to go back to read the ‘tree poem’ I had written lately. I found a comment posted by you there, thank you again. http://jimmiehov6.blogspot.com/2012/12/one-single-impression-tree.html

    I had a hard time finding you here from your comment on the ‘sea poem,’ thank you for peeking in there. There isn’t a link to this blog from your Blogger Profile. It could be placed in the ‘Web Page’ fill-in blank. Right now I am looking for an “L” word picture from our cruise to continue that theme for tomorrow.

  9. A grand photo and your poetic reflection; limb lace!
    _m

  10. Love the photo, Geraldine, and the sentiments so beautifully wrapped up in the branches of life in your gorgeous poem. Ah, Spring, it hovers nearby watching and waiting to make her entrance. I can’t wait! 🙂

  11. Hi Lorraine, And your comment made my day. What a lovely thing to say. 🙂

    Hi Vesper, I’d love to re-read what you wrote for that contest Vesper, maybe you’ll share again at your blog?

    I miss Jason’s place, I was surprised to see he hadn’t posted in a long while when I stopped by there recently. So many blog I used to enjoy that are no longer active. 😦 Thanks for your kind words friend.

    Hi Jim, I actually have my other blogs listed on the sidebars at all my blogs. I did add my email contact at Blogger but couldn’t figure out how to add WP blogs with my Blogger review blog, without some linking process that was beyond me, in a rush. 😉 I’m glad you got here Jim, that’s the main thing. And thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Magyar, Limb lace, I’ll take it. 😉

    Hi Talon, Great to see you again! And thanks for your lovely comments. I can’t wait either.

    Hugs to all, G

  12. I had trouble finding it myself on my blog, but here’s the link:

    http://chickwithaquill.blogspot.ca/2008/02/short-fiction-contest.html

    Unbelievable, almost five years ago!

    Have a wonderful weekend, Geraldine!
    xoxoxo

  13. happy saturday to you…smiles….

Thank you for your comments!